You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation system needs to incentivise "Genuine Content Mining" - Be honest - Are you Upvoting... or BETTING?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Many people are simply scanning the hot queue for articles below the 30 minute threshold and betting on the likelihood that some of them may trend. I'm sure the developers are aware of this and hopefully working on a solution to mitigate it.

I'm giving away another $50 Steam Card, come play:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@cryptobarry/i-am-giving-away-another-usd50-cdn-steam-card-on-steemit-or-pick-a-number-from-1-1000

Sort:  

Agreed. I've done it myself. No reason not to. If I see a post by @dan that is 15 minutes old with only 8 votes, I'll hit it and move on. It's a pity that such behaviour is incentivised at the moment.

Posts from dan/dantheman will always earn very little curation reward for anyone for the reason I explained in the comments on his post. A large portion of the curation reward will go to him due to his immediate default self-vote and most of the rest will still go to him because of people voting <30 minutes.

These votes are probably a complete waste of your voting power and you would do better simply picking some unknown with good potential and taking a chance on it.

Let's look at the curation reward details for his latest post, which you voted at minute 7 (not terrible timing; a whale voted 4 minutes later):

https://steemd.com/steem/@dantheman/people-rank-using-page-rank-algorithm-for-better-curation-and-rewards

Your weight is....0.00%

What a lot of people who haven't been around since the beginning don't realize is that most of the issues that are being brought up now were already brought up shortly after the launch and solutions implemented. It's still not perfect of course, but it really isn't bad.

We try not to upvote dan the man posts as we know it will hit by too many people since we noticed as we been here maybe 2 weeks so far. Saving the upvotes for those that brings value to community now or later.

I obsessively read his posts, but I have to admit that I often upvote before I've read it...

Yup, I'm guilty too and it's hurting the platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43