LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT HARD FORK. BOOST FOR CURATION HOPEFULLY.

in #steemit6 years ago

I am actually looking forward to Tuesday 25th September in more ways than one. Firstly it will be my first experience of one on here and would like to experience how it changes the platform.

The one change that really intrigues me is the change to the current timings on the curation rewards. The 30 minute curation window is now changing to a 15 minute window. Basically it will help curation and reward users who vote within the time frame. The change I really like is the self voting rule. Currently an author can self vote, the earlier they vote the less rewards are on offer to the curators. This has been a bug bear of mine lately as in my way of thinking if someone has read your post ,and is going to give you a vote which you benefit from anyway ,why take from the hand that is giving you something. I am hoping users that currently do this will change their way of thinking and think more about their followers than themselves. This should boost curation no end and more manual voting should occur.

There will be a new system set up for new accounts using a token. Most of us were given Steep Power which we paid back in order to start using the platform immediately. These tokens will be discounted initially and controlled by the witnesses. When the daily number of tokens runs out then the discount won't apply. Controlling the number via the witnesses is done so it doesn't place any extra pressure on the block chain. This has been put in place to ease new users onto the platform. I still don't know why it takes weeks for the sign up process so I am hoping this will be a lot quicker and speed up the growth of the platform.

Changes are always good and it is about moving forward and eventually being able to receive the masses so Steem can go mainstream.

Sort:  

I had no idea that there was a date for the next hard fork, I see your point about the self upvote but to be seen here you need to get the post bumped up before it get pushed down to nowhere land. I know how you feel about self votes and bots but we all got to get noticed! At least now most bots wont vote untill after 30 minutes and that helps people get their vote in before the hit, will that change with the next hard fork?

I hope so. That is the way I see it anyway. They say it is to help human curators curate more.

Cool, I would like doing less posting and more comments and curating!

Did you see there is currently no SBD in payouts.

Yes, and that is why I grabbed a bunch to see what happens

You never miss a trick. Good that you were one step ahead.I don't mind as it will help me grow quicker hopefully. Apparently it takes 16 days for printing to resume maybe longer.

God, I am so behind on what is going on, where are you finding this intell?

Go to Taraz's post and read the comments.

howdy there sir, this is some very good information that I hadn't heard about, they look like good improvements!

I think, for a mass adoption need one more thing: simple sign up proceed. At least not so difficult and long, like now :)

Ok, i understand, this is a blockchain-media, you cant do with this, like with the centralized platforms, but you know...
"If you want it, to people do something, make it easy."

Howzit mate. This is good news indeed. Some basic system regulations to make the platform more pliable for all who pay attention to the fine lines. Nice piece and thank you for the constant homework and info

Just reading about it there sounds great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01