UNIQUE UPSIDE ADVANTAGE OPPORTUNITIES IN STEEM

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


I would like to introduce a few working theories that I have come up since I began tracking Steem and its' dynamics that have been trending in my opinion in the last six to seven weeks. Like just about anything I cannot guarantee it staying the same, but in the short term, there have been some interesting correlations that are not necessarily prevailing, but there is at least a slight link to them.

--First, Steem is not a stock, while it is a cryptocurrency it provides a chance for those who trade it a chance to earn market based value. There are some competitive advantages to owning Steem as you may typically see in the investment world.

1.) You can lend/lease your Steempower. Such a unique angle to investing here, you can literally lease out your Steem, after converting it to Steempower (also called powering up). So if you intend to keep there for a lengthy time, this is a very wise move, but bear in mind it takes 13 weeks to power down steem that is transferred to steempower. It's difficult to find investments in the investment world that you can loan your money for a quarter of the year, and get any kind of return. On here it can be quite profitable when done correctly. Do your research on the platform about DELEGATING STEEMPOWER, there are countless posts on here further explaining it. Certificates of deposit do this at a bank, but the return on three months + one week is virtually nothing.

2.) You can trade Steem dollars for Steem (and vice versa). If you wish speculate in the nearer term and feel the steemdollar is going to do better than steem, you can swap them straight up on the built in market provided to account holders. It's a bit of a unique angle, as a chance to take advantage of the current (and future prospects) of the reward pool and buy steem dollars, or go longer on the steemit platform and the steem (token) by powering up or keeping it in your account for possibly other trading moves down the road.

3.) Trading is much more liquid with steem than with other cryptos such as Bitcoin. Not to trash Bitcoin at all, a lot of people who own steem also own Bitcoin as it is the most visible of the cryptos at the moment and carries a very high valuation day to day. While transaction fees have began to come down, they are still fairly substantial unless you are trading a very high dollar value amount of BTC.
(((--The intriguing thought I have come to notice with steem is that it could become a "pocket change" trade for the moment, at least until the price of the steem dollar/steem sees an exponential rise to a number like $100 market value trade. So, until the system gets overrun with transactions like what happened with BTC, which fortunately for the Steem holder is exponentially higher, people basically have the option to make steem market trades from bank to steemit account with very little headache and wastage in fees.)))

4.) The trend I have notice in the very short term is that Steem prices seem to move in an almost inverse opposite of more traditional international stalwart indexes, like say the Dow Jones since Bitcoin was able to traded on the CBOE (Chicago Board of Exchange) back in mid December 2017. Hard to say if that is intentional, but the amount of trades have certainly gone up. I welcome you to look at all the charts and make your decisions based on this theory, as it is something I have personally observed over the last six weeks.

--How you wish to maximize your holding in Steem, Bitcoin, any other crypto, or any traditional invest is obviously up to you. I am not here to tell you what to do next, just to provide my personal observations. What you choose to do with it is purely up to you. I do congratulate you on taking the plunge into a concept that 99% of the world has not yet had the guts to do so. You are among the first one to a party that is if nothing else incredibly interesting and entertaining. Congratulations, best of luck on the platform, may it be fruitful to you in what you wish to accomplish!
--Sincerely, @cryptkeeper17

Sort:  

Useful information. Cryptocurrency is becoming dynamic.

Thank you for adding your observations. For somebody who is unfamiliar with trading. This is a very challenging platform. I will share your information.

Wow that is very cool @wandrnrose7. I would have replied to you sooner, but I leased too much of my steempower out recently and I have had trouble getting back on because of bandwidth issues. Ha, live and learn I guess. Thanks again for checking the post @wandrnrose!

You're very welcome! I'm glad you got yourself back on!

It is crazy how hard it is to convince a content creator to get on this platform. My friend and I have tried to convince dozens, but the new tech combined with the steep learning curve keeps a lot of them away. It's sad, they should give it a try, I mean, what do they have to lose anyways?

Thanks for the comment @mikesthoughts. I would've gotten back to you sooner but I recently leased steempower out and I have been locked out because of bandwidth issues. I think you are right in your comment, there are very people that have the will to take on anything representing a challenge, or they soon quit when a challenge arises. The benefits here in my opinion will bring people because they will feel they have no choice but try to take part in the upside. That is what is so great about the platform right now is that we really have the cream of the cream right now. Or at least the first person in a collection of people that first found out about this. Keep up the great work, it will pay ridiculous dividends down the road, thanks again for the comment sir!

Yeah, this is definitely an early-adopter platform, and hopefully it will pay off down the road for those who put in the work, we shall see if the world agrees with that, hehe. The potential for someone who produces high quality content to make it here, so high. That's why I love it so much. I suck at normal business, but rock (imho) at everything else. Here, a creative can do their thing, network like a normal community, and make a living.

But, it's not easy. You gotta produce, and produce good stuff. And the learning curve is hard. But the resources are there if you look. And the people are there, if you look.

Glad to hear you got your power back, hehe. Most frustrating thing in the world to be able to want to say something but not be able to speak.

Yes it's a very interesting platform in that respect. You are very well positioned in your start. Keep growing, daily. Not necessarily by posting 100 posts a day, unless you have that many posts/pictures you feel you need to post early on. When you start your first things you do are so underappreciated it's not even funny. I am kind of in the same respect "rock at everything else." When I was younger I was a gamer. Not video gamer but heavy into simulations, deep thought dynamic situational settings. I got into ebay also, which was so awesome I quit doing it. So my fun leisure situations come from playing complex business/sport/management/building simulations, finding drastically undervalued things, and selling them back on the same platform (ebay flipping). So yeah, where has this been all my life as well. Don't worry, you off to a great start. Hit me up with any questions I am always happy to help when I can. I am on discord, a great place people visit about steem if you'd hadn't heard much about it. My handle there is @cryptkeeper176637. A really good guy to check out that does a lot of neat things for us fellow newbies is @davemccoy. He has a lot of really helpful posts for newbies, getting the hang of things. He started on here a day after I did. He has like 3,500 followers. He has some stuff for newbies to chat an meet a lot of people on here, and is very helpful also. Again, I am always happy to help, let me know if you can help you get rolling the way you want sir!

I do have months work of content to put out, hehe. Years of backlog in things to show and talk about. I think I average 3 posts a day. Not sure how many comments. Lots of interesting people here to meet.

That's definitely a profitable leisure activity, hehe. My friends dad made quite a bit flipping between Ebay and Amazon. Mine was photography...still working out how to make that make me some money, hehe.

Thanks for the tips! Definitely going to be checking in on all that. So much to learn, so little time.

For sure, so you are holding back at 3 posts a day, because they all are very solid, if not excellent already coming out the gate. I meant the people that post headlines, quotes, etc every 10 minutes. Obviously not what you are doing there. It will be fun to see your growth on here you do have a great future of what little I have seen out of the gate. Keep up the great work @mikesthoughts!

Thanks! Yeah, that spam stuff is super annoying. But, no matter where you go, there it will be. Like every ecosystem :\ Hope to keep on growing as well :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks a lot @gaman I am very honored you thought enough of the article to launch in your great project. I look forward to following it along and being a part of your success from here on out!

This post used the @earthnation tag.

Earthnation is trending and if you have new paradigm, conscious focused, humanitarian, spiritual, or solution-based content then consider getting supportive upvotes with our @earthnation-bot swarm service or by joining our community Guild @ensteemit https://asc.ai/steemit to where you can interact with like-minded souls.

Release the Kraken! You got a 5.31% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @cryptkeeper17!

This post has received a 15.79 % upvote from @moneymatchgaming thanks to: @cryptkeeper17. Upvote this Post to Support the MMG Community on Steemit! :)

This post has received gratitude of 0.72 % from @appreciator thanks to: @cryptkeeper17.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70098.52
ETH 3942.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70