OK Quick Steemit Question ...

in #steemit8 years ago

How can someone have a REPUTATION of 40 and a Steemit account of $5,123 ???

How come people have a Reputation of 60 and are worth $ 200 ???

I just do not get it...

Sort:  

Reputation tells us how many positive votes you've received. It like leveling up in a video game, I think. I don't even know why I'm talking. I don't know this stuff.

You are right, reputation is a measure of upvotes vs/flags. The amount of reputation increase an upvote gives you is also related to the reputation of the user upvoting you as well as the amount of steem they hold. I could go on the exchanges and purchase $10 K SBD worth of steem and my reputation would not increase.

So you do know this stuff :)

Strange. I didn't know, what I knew, what I now know.

hmmmmm

no problem ; I truly thank you . . .

Even assuming your are looking at thee issue from a new perspective , if you explain that situation I might gain a clearer insight to all of this : )

The way I see it, every vote is a point. I'm not sure if some votes give out more points than others. Say it take 100 points to get from level 49 to 50. Level 50 to 51 would require more points, lets say 130. Moving from level 69 to 70 might require 2000 points. That's my messed up understanding.

If someone buys in, they didn't earn their stake through rewards. This means they did not receive votes and can't level up until they contribute.

I could be wrong, but I don't think I am.

thank you so much 4 helping & your answer ; )

soon you and I will both be Reputation 6,098 : )

I've a feeling I'll have an incredibly high reputation combined with being completely broke. I think my other reputation got me blacklisted and now I'm back to making pennies. You're welcome for the answer.

Bahahahahaha! You are so funny @nonameslefttouse! But I must admit...I don't know anything either.. it never make much sense but we just carry on!

Keep on keepin on my fellow on keeper!

Reputation is dependent on your posts receiving upvotes from other people with higher reputation. It has nothing to do with how much SP you have. If you never or rarely post then your reputation will not rise as fast as someone who posts good content regularly.

Look at you, 68 now! Nice, good on ya. I have not been on much in a month, until the last 3 days, I need all the help I can get lol. I usually try to look for posts/people that are lower rep. than me and then vote for their posts and comments, to try and help them. I figure we are all in this together and I know that is one way to help others. I always like seeing your comments etc.

Thank you. Let me know in the chat when you post so I don't miss it.

I tried long ago to get into there and could not figure it out lol.

It's not that difficult. Give it another try - it has been updated a few times.

ah so it is simply a popularity contest, thank you . So i can completely ignore my reputation, by being on steemit it will go up.

My reputation is safe unless i choose to spit upon someone or post hateful material like racial slurs etc . . .

My lady is a blonde, I do intend a blonde jokes post; I hope that will not be seen as nasty and downvote my reputation...

Your are confused because you feel there is only one game in town. There are actually several paths, each with different levels of reward (SP, rep, Steem)

  • Write blog posts. Get SP, rep & Steem in about the same measure.
  • Curate posts. If you have enough SP, you can literally make money clicking up vote.
  • Mine/Bot. There are lots of ways to make Steem by working the system or providing automatic content.

I used to try writing posts, and i got conflicted. Firstly my writing is not spectacular so I stopped authoring posts and now i mainly post comments on other peoples work. My job here is to try and make steemit a better place, the more i improve steemit the more steemit improves my shares portfolio in steem . . .

Before I would spend hours crafting a story for my blog post, now i just surf steemit and enjoy writing hopefully useful crud as comments onto others posts. This lets me improve myself because I am not spending two hours making a crafted post for profit, but I am spending two hours learning new crap to improve myself and satisfy myself as a human being.

LOL I would have no clue how to mine lol, but i can vote and I am learning how to make money : )

thank you for helping ; )

upvotes raise reputation, flags lower it. upvotes assign rewards, flags negate rewards. buying steem you can then power it up, even with a negative reputation. i am not sure how reputation interacts with rewards, not, i think.

Hey @ U !
I hope this finds you well and you travel smart and safe ! ! !

rewards r from SP only after the voting rounds...

Or they bought in with outside money.

Steem can be bought and sold. Reputation must be earned...and the user has no direct control of it other than how hard he works...or not. Reputation is computed according to an algorithm.

Rep 40 they are the whales just with low profile,
Not necessary all whales have higher rep

Just look at @poloniex they only have a Rep of 25 but with a ton load of cash.

These are holding accounts, the major trading names have loads of cash but rarely ever spend time on steemit. I do not understand it all but they buy and hold until they choose to sell, many of the major cryptocurrency exchanges names are here holding cash but not posting content

well I guess that is the only way they can exchange Steem. Although I would be curious to see how much they would make if they posted something.

lol oh yes i never thought about that, if they posted something they would make a lot in rewards, but to those traders that would not even pay for their car parking . . .

Are we sure it is not a kind of speculation? Just a personal doubt. I hold bitcoins, I see this great new opportunity. I come here, I convert in Steem dollars, I wait until the price is useful for my purposes and finally I cash-out. Does it make sense or I used too much fantasy?

Is that not how the Stock Market works ?

Besides the additional Insider-trading of course . . .

Those case scenario are a big mistery for myself.

Reblogged/upvoted etc for you. Good feedback here. I have not been on much in a month, until the last 3 days, I need all the help I can get lol. I usually try to look for posts/people that are lower rep. than me and then vote for their posts and comments, to try and help them.

I figure we are all in this together and I know that is one way to help others.

Welcome Back and I hope all in your world is great and useful and organised and peaceful...

Enjoy your Steemit visit, PLEASE do NOT FEED the trolls . . .

Careful in your travels; there are RoBOTS about ! ! !

Ty very much. I really don't know much about the bots and what they all do and what to avoid but I do know they are around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50