The STEEMIT User Interface - Some Comments, and A Feature Request

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

"The way we communicate with others and with ourselves ultimately determines the quality of our lives."
- Tony Robbins -

A significant Steemit "feature" became suddenly clear today.

I have been missing important comments under my articles.

Table of Contents

Communication: A Quality of Life Issue
Image courtesy of Pavan Trikutam and http://unsplash.com

Users are also misdirecting their comments.

Table of Contents
User Menu "Replies" Tab
Screen capture by @creatr

I had noticed this a few times before, but it was driven home to me today when I had my nose rubbed in it.

My general practice has been to visit my "Replies" queue from the Steemit drop-down menu. (See illustration to the right.) However, (don't say it - I'm a little slow at times!) I've recently come to more strongly realize that only the direct parent of a "Reply" has that reply placed in their "Replies" queue.

Perhaps this has happened to you also?

You go back to an article you wrote, maybe days or weeks later, and discover that someone left a very thoughtful comment. You would have liked to respond to their comment in a more timely fashion.

Maybe the commenter thought they were addressing you, or your article. Possibly, they didn't. In either case, the comment was at the very least indirectly the result of your article, and you're sorry you missed it!

Table of Contents
Replies "Sort Order" Option
Screen capture by @creatr

What am I going to do about this?

Maybe you're brighter than I am, and have been handling this well all along.

Speaking for my (sometimes dim) self, I plan to depend a little less on my "Reply" stream, and start simply opening my recent articles and putting the Replies in "Sort Order: age" as illustrated here to the left... Then I should be able to scroll down the list and see any replies that I may have missed.

Now for my Feature Request:

May it please the "Steemit Powers that Be" to put this in the "It would be nice" category.

It would be nice if authors were notified, or had an option to be notified, every time a new "Reply" is added under their article, whether or not it was in direct response to the article or the author.

It would also be nice if, as an author, I had some kind of check-box to note for myself that I had seen and made a "response decision" to that particular Reply. And/or perhaps, some way to "tag" a Reply as a reminder that I want to go back later when I have time to write a more thorough response.

As a stopgap measure, I have tended to vote for all of my replies at a low percentage, just to have an easily visible record that I've seen them. Sometimes I want to actually "Reply" to the reply; sometimes I just want to ignore it. Sometimes I want to vote for it. In all cases, I would like to know that a "Reply" has been left under my article, whether or not it was directed squarely at me.

What do you think?

I'd love to hear your ideas about how to improve our ability to interact and communicate here on Steemit.


Visit my Library Steemit Shelf for more Steemit articles.


Table of Contents


~FIN~

LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

nice share of idea, i only see if there someone commented on my post at https://steemd.com/@ followed by your username, it would be better if there is a pop up message confirming a reply from a post one has made,

and a chat box, were members could interact to each other, just like in facebook.

Thanks for visiting and commenting!

Chat would also be nice. We have Steemit Chat, but as a completely separate item.

i think, its better that steemit chat be merge here at the main site, something like for example when you CLICK the profile ICON there is a chat option , no hassle of going to another site just to chat your friends,, :))

Yes, I agree that would be much better. ;)

Yes this is totally required! Both the view of all replies with sub-replies, and an 'I've seen this' check box thingy.

I try to reply to all my messages with something valid and tend to up-vote them as a confirmation I've seen them. Which is ok but this could mean I'll miss a few embedded replies still!

Sounds as if we're on the same page... Thanks for commenting! :D

Hopefully, you see this reply. ;)

I like your feature idea, and your application to have a notification for each comment seems like the simplest method. Although, it would be annoying to have a notification for each piece of spam. 😏

Yes, I see it! ;)

I probably could have been clearer...

I don't really want any kind of "push" notification... Just an option (in settings?) that would differentiate between the way my "Replies" queue currently works, and adding (or seeing) all replies under my article... whether or not they were directly responding to my own replies.

I don't want bells going off every time someone replies! :O

Oh good. ;)

I assumed that is what you wanted, not sure anyone wants a hundred bells going off every time they post an article, lol.

Something that is customizable in our settings would be nice for future additions.

the whole comment setup needs some TLC ... there is too much focus on upvoting but the lifeblood of any community is feedback through comments . Comments and comment threads should weigh much heavier in the rewards algorithm too. If the stated goal of Steemit is to discover quality contributions, the current up voting is failing miserably ...
The number of comments should dictate the position on the trendingfeed at least because it gives a better signal that The community is engaging with the post . Votes are too easily automated . At least auto or junk comments can be flagged .

"The number of comments should dictate the position on the trendingfeed at least..."

You make an excellent point. Reader engagement is key.

Thanks for your comments! :D

I use the Replies tab all the time. It allows me to keep tabs on all the conversations I'm having and never miss a reply I get. I find it incredibly useful.

A feature I'd like to see on Steemit is a priority feed. I am currently following almost 400 people and I have a good reason to follow most of them. But this means that my feed is flooded with more content than I can reasonably handle. I don't want to unfollow most of the people I'm currently following because I am indeed interested in their posts and even if I miss some, I'd still like to have a chance of seeing something from them. And if I stumble on something interesting, I can always go back and check more of the person's posts that I've missed from before.

But there are authors that I really like and that are not on equal footing with the rest of my followers. I would love to have the option to select some of the people I'm following and to put them into a priority feed. In this way, when I'm on steemit to read, I can look at the priority feed first and make sure I haven't missed anything from the authors I like the most, and then can go to my more general feed to continue looking for interesting content from the rest of the people I find interesting.

I think something like that would work well and would make it easier to not miss the highest quality content.

A priority feed would be wonderful. I have an "ad-hoc" solution to that; I just keep a list of "extra-fave" authors and make the rounds from time to time. As long as I get around at least weekly, I can reward them with votes.

But yes, some built-in tools to facilitate that would be nice...

P.S. I hope you didn't miss the fact that even if you use your Replies tab faithfully, you may be missing replies?

P.S. I hope you didn't miss the fact that even if you use your Replies tab faithfully, you may be missing replies?

I indeed missed it. How so?

What I do to possibly avoid that is I start over looking at the replies I've gotten from the last one I have upvoted and the dark blue upvote arrow allows for a relatively clear distinction. Still, it's always possible to miss something. Like opening something in a new tab and then closing it by accident and so on.

For instance, you might have actually missed the reply I have last left you in your post about the truth about the bible where you mentioned arrogance. Or you might have just decided there is nothing to reply to there too ;)

"I indeed missed it. How so?"

One of at least two things; either you didn't read my article carefully, or I did a poor job of explaining that many comments under an article are not reported in the Reply stream.

I indeed was so sure I understood the Replies stream correctly that I read the part about misdirected comments and still didn't really comprehend your point there. My bad entirely.

Credit is right there...under the picture.

Thanks for pointing that out! ;)

I try to credit most photos, even if they are CC0 license... i.e. Public Domain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82