The Mystery of The Missing Steemit Images

in #steemit6 years ago

“Of all the things I've lost I miss my mind the most.”
– Ozzy Osbourne –


From the " What's up with that? " department:

So, I'm working on my Steemit Library Project, and making more discoveries about apparent "holes" in Steemit.

Table of Contents

What's going on here?
Image courtesy of Evan Dennis and http://unsplash.com

I just discovered some missing Steemit images.

As I reported in my last post, I'm working to develop tools to automate the process of maintaining my Steemit Library.

Table of Contents

CLICK the Image Above to Access My Steemit Library

Looking over some older Library files,

I discovered that there are a few images missing. These are images that were uploaded at more or less the same time, using the usual methods.

For example, consider my Library Photography Shelf:

Photography Articles

You can open and examine that article to see what I mean. At the time of this writing, two of the original post images are missing, including the very first image in the post. This is the URL where that image used to be accessible:

https://steemitimages.com/DQmPakyXGrPPEkUTdNPgpYm6RmAf9nTCojYn2emLKzpUzKK/Photography.jpg

If you copy and paste that URL into your browser, you'll get an error message that looks like this:

Table of Contents

CLICK the image above to see the error "live."

I know that the missing images all once existed, and were all present and accounted for when I published them. At the time I created the last version of my Steemit Library, I very carefully proofread each page and checked all the images.

If I were talking about images elsewhere on the web, not under Steemit control, I would understand that older posts might have broken links. However, as you can see, these are URLs that access https://steemitimages.com.

Table of Contents

Hey, Steemit! Those photos are missing!
Image courtesy of Yaroslav Blokhin and http://unsplash.com

In contrast, at the time of this writing,

my Library Stories Shelf has all of its images intact, as you can see here:

Stories

And so, this mystery of the missing images seems to only be affecting some files and not others. I haven't checked all my files, but I suppose that a script could be created to check for missing Steemit images?

[More Deep Sighs...]

Is there no end to disheartening discoveries?

I guess it's better to know what's going on than to live in "LaLaLand," believing all is well when it isn't.

What do you say, Steemit?

Is there a solution to this mystery?

Can the lost images be found? If I leave them alone, will they come home, wagging their tails behind them?

Will you ever give us the ability to edit our own older posts so that we can fix broken links and damaged articles?

Enquiring minds want to know...



~FIN~



Table of Contents

Einstein was right about this...
Image courtesy of AZ Quotes


For more Steemit articles, please visit our Library Steemit Shelf - Just CLICK the shelf below.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Could the missing photos have anything to do with copyright law?

That's an excellent question.

I don't believe so, as in my case, as a rule I source from public domain sources or use my own material.

In the case of @mattclarke, I think he was using his own material as well?

All my own images.

So here's what I noticed. There was a "soft fork"/update that "cleaned up" old code. Some of this "old code" was how many people had historically uploaded their images to Steemit, including myself.

As such, this "old code" no longer works, and the images disappeared. I'm not sure if they're "gone forever", but they're definitely gone "for now".

The update/fork happened about 4 months ago. This was the Steemit Blog Update. And this was my not-so-helpful Post about the issue.

Hello, @evolved08gsr, and thanks for weighing in on this.

I appreciate the links to those two articles.

Cheers!

No problem! Hopefully this was relevant to your original message :)

Indeed... Certainly relevant enough!

I am interested in the inner workings of all of Steemit. I just wish I had more time to devote to studying and fiddling with it. ;)

Will you ever give us the ability to edit our own older posts so that we can fix broken links and damaged articles?

My older posts have peek-a-boo moments with the pictures, too. Though mine has something to do with the limited bandwith I'm apparently allowed on the site where I stored the pictures I linked. Would love to change the location of the pictures used so they won't disappear every few days but I'm guessing it's not going to happen. In any case, if it's not the bandwith, perhaps it's when something is down for maintenance? Kind of like what happens with steemd? Just my guess though.

It is presently an open question in my mind as to whether the Steemit blockchain will ever store photos?

For archival purposes, I suppose we could encode them in text...

Nice quote Einstein :)

I lose my Car Keys and Cell phone every day, so do not feel I am qualified to discuss lost images! Hope you are able to locate them.

LOL!

Thanks for the sympathetic response... ;)

I've noticed this when browsing back through some of my older posts.
Notably a gif of my proposal, at the end of my post about how I proposed.
Kinda pulled the whole thing together.
Happy to re-upload the original, but as you said, not an option.

Hi, Matt!

So, was it something parked at https://steemitimages.com/ ???

I will continue to lobby for edit-ability of all posts...

And, who knows? Maybe if I keep on this crazy path of learning dev stuff, I'll figger' out how to fix that bug myself!

Take care, my friend. ;)

The post is here.
I may have uploaded to imgur and linked from there.
Looking through my gallery in imgur, a lot of the images have been deleted/delisted for some reason.

Loading...

Is there a reoccurring theme associated with the missing images, and do you think eliminating the images reduces the credibility of you post? Upvoted and resteemed this post.

Not in the one particular Library Page I listed; however, that's a very interesting question, and I'll have to do a wider study with that in mind...

But my "gut" says that's not the case. In the instant post, it was an edited header image introducing the photography page, and then a border/divider type image that I had clipped out of a public domain photo.

Thanks for a great question! :D

I hope they figure something out before any of my posts get to be "too old"!

Hahahahaha! For sure! :D

I hope this doesn't destroy your faith in the blockchain as an eternal repository of your writings - mind you, one nuclear war could do that....always the optimist, lol

Hahahahaha!

My "faith" in blockchain is of a limited variety... however, with Steemit witnesses distributed widely around the globe, and with significant amounts of monetary value involved, the Steemit blockchain does look like one of the better bets to me...

I'm just doing my due diligence here, raising the alarm and hoping (perhaps futilely?) for someone (who both cares and has some ability) who may be able to nip whatever problem this is a symptom of in the bud...

In any case, as I wrote in "Old Friends" last month, my true faith is that my words will be eternally preserved in the mind of God...

yes, and the issue of the missing images are not related to the blockchain, since that steemitimages website is not a blockchain.... we're talking about links to stuff off the blockchain... and I think they changed the way they handle images in the past few months... I noticed some similar issues...

Thanks for your comment...

So, do you happen to know whether Steemit ever intends to save images by storing them on the blockchain? Or is only the text ever going to be on the blockchain?

Seems to me that the purpose of a blockchain social media site is somewhat defeated, especially for artists and photographers, if the images aren't permanent...

in my opinion storing images in the blockchain would be inefficient... ipfs is the goto for censorship resistant filestorage... will steemit ever figure out how to not jack up our old images, well... we hope so... but for the time being, old posts drift off into the past less relevant and potentially more broken as the days go on.

I would like to learn more about ipfs... I've done a little reading about it and find it a very cool concept.

What I'm hoping Steemit will be or become is an archival storage of my writing that I need not be concerned about who will maintain it. It remains to be seen whether that will happen, but at the moment it's the closest thing I've got to the possibility of having permanent storage for my ideas...

Thanks for your interaction here. ;)

Don't missing this, now you have focus this, but your steemit library like as a parliament decoration, this is wonderful place of your library here also look good as the row style @creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76