Just cancelled my power down, thank's to Tara's video on the streets talking to people about steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

My confidence got a big boost by Tara's video talking to people in the streets, it's not the first time I've seen a video like that. I've seen other youtubers advertising steemit to random people in the street, and every-time I had the thought that this person deserves a big payout for being so bold and confident.

It's not like steemit is hard to explain, it's actually very easy because almost everyone is familiar with social media, but steemit is still in beta, and when the question is asked "where does the money come from?", and you have to mention bitcoin, that's when things get weird.

Me siting here now typing this at 1am when I should be sleeping for an early morning rise to deliver water slides is result of my sudden boost in confidence, as I'm not the type to write a blog post, being a vlogger who finds it so easy to turn on the camera and talk. But the emotions I have right now wont look good on camera, as I'm overwhelmed with joy to be involved with steemit at this early stage of it's evolution.

Before the July 4th payout I was "all in" on steem tokens for the bitcoin trading profits, and after the steemit payout my self confidence allowed me to slowly power up my steem to steem power one day at a time, but when the hack happened and the site was on a rocky road for a few days, I cashed out my steem to bitcoin, and a few days later started a power down because I lost confidence. In the unregulated crypto world the only thing that truly matters is my own self confidence if I don't want to lose money.

I am now back in the mindset of putting all my bitcoin back into steem, and get back on the path of slowly powering up my steem to steem power each day, thanks to Tara @guerrint

Sort:  

It's funny how in the beginning, they were very cautiously interested. Until, she showed them what her post had actually made so far...Then they woke up! I think that will be the spark to light the fire towards mainstream adoption. Then once they understand what SP really Is, they'll get back to saving their money again for the long term...Keep going Craig! lol

Yeah the amount of people wanting to join will lead to more informative posts from people who were just recently in their shoes and want to help welcome them as other users did when we first got here.

Funny, for me this Tara figure makes me lose faith in this platform ... ;)

do you think this comment is worth 16 cents? :)

I'm powering down for a couple of week to run some calculations and will decide which side of the fence I'm sitting on at that point. 0.6% seems to be the interest gained per day (down from your suggested 1%). Would like to know how much you got from your first power down...

Cheers

Hey Craig, Either way if you power down or don't I think it is fine. You are further along than me and at this point I have been more thinking about "do I cash out or power up" I'm not at a point to really think about powering down. I feel that it is fine that whales power down some to spread the wealth and the deserve it. But if you need to power down to get the jet ski then don't feel bad about it. I know the feeling of wanting to be more powerful and that we are in a rare situation right now. But I think we are one in the same as far as putting in huge efforts right now on here. It is actually affecting my time at the gym, the time i'm spending on one of my other businesses. I'm like all in and I think this weekend is going to be a big weekend for us.

my powering down was not because I need the money, I would have just left it in bitcoin and wait for something else to invest in, but now I'm more confident about it being invested in steemit, so no need to power down

Agreed, I've always had confidence in the potential of steemit; we have to be aware that content will become diluted with mass subscription?!?!

thanks for sharing... keep posting

With people like her will arrive to the moon much more faster)

I think it gets harder when you have as much invested as you do. Keep the faith.

The money I have in steemit now was all earned with steemit and trading steem tokens, I have already withdrew my original investment, and now I am willing to slowly reinvest it again

Oh, nice. You are smart with your investments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53622.13
ETH 2208.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29