Password Panic!

in #steemit7 years ago

baby-443393_1920.jpg
Gandalf told Frodo to keep the ring secret and safe. Our crypto passwords are a lot like the one ring. Once someone steals it, you're screwed. Your money is gone and you can't do a thing about it. I almost lost my Steemit password yesterday. I got the wrong one from a word document and kept messing it up! I was instantly mortified and began to sweat profusely as I tried over and over again.
Some friends had come over for our Fourth of July party and asked what was the matter. "I have lost my Steemit account. All is lost!" I exclaimed . . . then had to explain what Steemit is and the consequences of losing my password, and why I could never recover my password, and why that was ok because the cryptographical integrity of the account was important. Etc. Anyway, I may have recruited a friend to Steemit! Finally, I gave up and decided that it was lost forever. I'd have to start all over again. Oh weeping and gnashing of teeth! (I drank one moscow mule and three beers and had a lovely time at the party).
However, I decided to give it one more go today and found it in another word document. I entered the password in fear and trepidation, fully expecting it to fail like all the others but . . . Eureka! It worked. I sat for several moments mouth agape as I watched my steemit account login. With trembling fingers I moused through my account. Yup. Definitely Logged in! I plan to write down all of my Crypto passwords today and keep them in a safe place! To borrow a certain phrase, once my steemit was lost, but now it is found.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59