Why I Feel Steemit Won't Be As Successful As FacebooksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

I am not about to attack Steemit. I love everything about it, from the fellowship that spans across the world, the interesting and creative content that gets posted, and the rewards received.

I have read speculation that claim Steemit could become more popular than Facebook. That would be awesome if it happened, however I see one major barrier to that idea.

Steemit requires creativity and talent, Facebook and other social media sites do not.

We all know that some people are gifted with intellect, creativity, passion for life, and good writing and composition skills. However, many people do not possess such skills. Just reading through my Facebook feed, I am annoyed by how many unintelligent things people post -- and yes, these are people I personally requested as friends or accepted as friends.

Simple FB posts like I wish people would grow up , or Got wasted last night and lost my phone, are acceptable and get a lot of response.

Perhaps this is an indication of what types of people I consider "friends" on FB. In reality, 95.403 percent (rough estimation) of these "friends" are people I knew way back from high school who I rarely spoke to even then. And I don't even say hello to most of them when I see them in the community today. There are very few genuine interactions with these people. And most of what goes into Facebook posts are people complaining about their life -- or the opposite -- bragging about this or that. I barely check my FB account any more.

Steemit, on the other hand, is a site where creative people can interact and thrive. Talent is rewarded.

I have made connections and shared great discussion with people from many other states and foreign countries that are warm, friendly, and passionate about many of the things I am. That feels good. There is no way I would have made connections like this through Facebook.

So while I am making mention of Steemit to other people, trying to gather new users, I don't expect many of them to drop FB and come to this platform.

Steemit users are an elite group, and many potentially new users will realize that one's success on Steemit is a direct result of their efforts and time commitment. Many people want to earn something for free, rather than work for it. They would rather stick to FB and rant about politics, their broken finances and relationships, or whatever else they think their "friends" need to know. It is a shame, but as the years go on, intelligence and determination to succeed are on the decline.

I do see a bright future for Steemit, and I am thrilled to have been introduced early on, thanks to @tinyhomeliving. I just cannot see Steemit becoming as immensely popular as Facebook. Our appeitite for new talent and creative, original work will be the major factor that limits our growth. Perhaps that is a good thing. It would be better to have 100 million intelligent and creative users than 2 billion imbeciles.

Perhaps you have a different outlook than I do. Your replies are very much welcome!

Sort:  

Brilliant commentary @countryinspired:

"Steemit requires creativity and talent, Facebook and other social media sites do not."

The ring of truth is loud.

Thank you for reading and replying!

Another platform to post my view, i don't trust fb.

You make a very good point.

However, just because Steemit will not outdo Facebook, doesn't mean Steem is so limited. Steemit is just one view into the Steem blockchain. The same blockchain can support multiple such front end applications or 'views'. For example, look at busy.org for something more akin to Facebook on the Steem blockchain.

I agree that this is the main issue that hinders growth.

Good reflexion here, I totally agree with "It would be better to have 100 million intelligent and creative users than 2 billion imbeciles." !!

"Many people want to earn something for free, rather than work for it. They would rather stick to FB and rant about politics, their broken finances and relationships, or whatever else they think their "friends" need to know. It is a shame, but as the years go on, intelligence and determination to succeed are on the decline."

Yes... sad to say... but yes... Idiocracy.

"It would be better to have 100 million intelligent and creative users than 2 billion imbeciles."

Quality vs. quantity :)

Agreed. I am not saying everyone on Facebook is dumb. There are a lot of intelligent Facebook users. But a lot of morons, too.

It would be better to have 100 million intelligent and creative users than 2 billion imbeciles.

I'll drink to that! clink!

What will it be? Pumpkin ale?

Whiskey on the rocks... hold the rocks. LOL
Dad always said it puts hair on your chest. Still no hair. I guess I need to drink more. XD

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48