Contest of Shame: (fiction-prompted contest and SBD giveaway)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

shame.jpg

I've recently passed the 100-follower mark, and I believe I did this largely in part of fiction. In celebration, I'm having a fiction-prompted contest. My previous post is a piece of flash fiction that leaves off on a cliffhanger. I have some idea where I'd like to go with it, but I thought it might be fun to see what other people could come up with.

The Contest is This:

Write the young man's response to the silver devil in the comments.

"You have 120 second to confess your most shameful secret. If it bores me, I'm done with you."

You can add bits beyond dialogue if you like, just make sure there's some sort of response to the question.

I will not be choosing the winner, you will. Post your submission-comment and upvote another. The comment(with the character's response) with the most upvotes will win. Feel free to upvote yourself, just make sure you upvote at least one other.

1st place will receive: 10 SBD at the end of this post's 7 days.(August 24th at 9:00 AM Pacific Time Zone
UTC-08:00)

Runner up will receive: 5 SBD at the end of this post's 7 days.(August 24th at 9:00 AM Pacific Time Zone
UTC-08:00)

I will then choose either 1st place or the runner-up's version for my next piece in my crypto punk series. All SBD that it brings in will go to the selected author.

This contest is relying heavily upon the honor system. I want to give something back to my fellow fiction-writers, but I'd also like to use this bit of inspiration to drive my own, so please vote honestly.

Submissions will be accepted until the day before the payout August 23 at 9:00 AM Pacific Time Zone
UTC-08:00.

Let the shame begin!

Sort:  

"You have 120 second to confess your most shameful secret. If it bores me, I'm done with you."

The young man looked the devil in the eye, a smile creeping across his face. "That's easy" he uttered in a slow southern drawl. "I am death."

Now the devil had heard a lot of things in his time. Murderers were common. But to declare oneself to be death itself. This was new. "Do go on" the devil hissed with a curious raise of the brow.

"I have killed, as have many others you have known" the man began "But death is not indiscriminate. Death does, is fact, care who lives and dies." He gave a slight shrug of his shoulders "A murderer may examine his subject and choose with care. But in the end, he does it for the thrill. Because it is exciting. I do it..." he paused "because it is my job."

"I always kill for a reason, though the victims may never know it. Good, Bad, Young, old, healthy or frail, everyone's time will come. And when it comes, I am there."

"So you consider yourself an Angel of Mercy?" the devil asks, a bit put out. Many murderers claimed such things.

"Not at all. I am simply a surgeon who doesn't care if his patient lives or dies." the young man states plainly. "Now breathe deeply"

The devil seemed perplexed by this last statement, he took a breath to state as much, but the air seemed odd. When had a mask been put over his face? And why was he suddenly lying down?

The devil tried to rise, but something was holding him down. Something was making his eyelids heavy. Something was pulling consciousness from him. His eyes closed. The last thing the devil heard was the single word "Scalpel." and then all was darkness.

Congrats @mikepm74! Very nice entry. It'll take some doing to adapt it to my previous post but with your permission, I'll keep it as closely written to the original as my ability allows. I'll also credit you by name in the next post of the series.

hey Cosimo. im sorry. i just wrote off the premise given and did not go back to your previous postings. please do not feel compelled to use this in any way, unless you want to. if you want to use it, by all means. with my blessing.

i hate that mine was the only entry. it was such a fun little prompt to work with.

Glad you enjoyed the prompt! We'll see what the future brings.

Makes me curious to know how the devil ends up on the table. Hmm...

Love it! Funny thing: if I had entered this contest, I was going to have the "shameful secret" end with the devil's demise. Great minds think alike, right?

Some typos in your story remind me that you would do well to look into Fiction Workshop at Discord. :-) You're missing punctuation in some places - but not all - so it doesn't look intentional for artsy reasons.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations @cosimo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I fucked my aunty , I am ashamed of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26