Meritocracy vs. Oligarchy

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Community,
Overnight (I assume) a whale decided to take away their votes on my posts and I lost a considerable amount of money. I take this as a personal slap in the face as the post that lost the most money was actually quite good – swimming with a whale shark as a mermaid….which not many people have done.


Based on this I’ve decided to leave this community. I joined Steemit believing it was a meritocracy but instead it seems to be more of an oligarchy, a hierarchical system in which the wealthy pat each other on the back and throw scraps to the poor…and as in my example can just take everything away from you on a whim.
I have a lot to offer (see my Introduce Myself post) but this has taken the wind out of my sails. I can’t contribute my best to a community where I’m at the mercy of some individual who can just take away everything I’ve worked for. This system is flawed. It is more like a high school popularity contest.
All the Best, Coco
image
Photo by Robert Minnick
P.S. I might check in again in 6 months to see if a) the system has become more fair b) if more of my real life friends are on here to offer support and protection.

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @corinnaherden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

🗅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65