Vote Buyers Beware! Dark Overlord @Grumpycat has Begun his Reign of Terror 😈

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

@Grumpycat has begun his reign of flagging terror and he's not sticking to his own rules. He has decided to not wait the 14 day period and has started flagging vote buyers today. He is not limiting his flags to posts that were promoted in the first 3.5 days or even promoted at all! He is randomly flagging vote buyers as he pleases.

He has continued to vote his sock account @checkthisout taking thousands more dollars for posts that say "SBD correction" since my last post. https://steemit.com/steemit/@contentjunkie/epic-reward-pool-rapist-grumpycat-unveils-fascist-roadmap

He has tacitly confirmed the meaning of his comments stating "SBD correction" are that he intends to sell the accumulated SBD into the books and drive the price of SBD down. He did so by upvoting a comment stating the theory. If you are an author enjoying the high price of SBD, @Grumpycat is working against you.

Vote buyers beware! SBD bulls beware! We've got a new overlord and he's not playing by any rules.

Update: @Grumpycat has responded with https://steemit.com/abuse/@grumpycat/reminder-grumpycompliance-in-7-days-look-who-s-buying-votes-on-his-6-days-old-posts

You'll notice he doesn't address his own misdeeds of taking thousands of dollars for nothing more than the words "SBD correction" over and over and over. He instead chooses to point out I bought votes on 6 day old posts. Yup, I sure did. He said we had 14 days left. That was a lie.

Many of you don't know but flaggers created this last day vote buying issue. You see they used to just flag anyone who bought votes right away and drove us to having to buy votes with less time for them to flag.

Let's not forget folks @Grumpycat is only doing this for his own profits. He is raping the reward pool with comments that say "SBD correction" for the sole purpose of dumping it on the market. His crimes against the community exceed any type of vote buying.

Leave your thoughts in the comments below.


Follow @contentjunkie to stay up to date on more great posts like this one.

Sort:  

I just want to ask you one thing

I am neither a big fan of his harsh way of flaging people who don't abuse nor the way some people abuse boosters.

Why do you upvote your old posts with boosters and not your new ones?

Here is a screenshot of his latest post:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-05 um 13.00.06.png

I mean, @grumpycat has a point here - The only motivation for boosting your old posts is pure greed for more money.

Why don't you just boost your new posts? I think that way both parties would be happy and we could focus on positive things again...

Gonna selfupvote this for visibility!

Greets!

They trained me to do so. I used to buy votes right away on posts then they started flagging me and others for doing that. You see these flaggers actually created the issue of people buying votes on the last day because they were flagging anyone who bought votes at all.

Worry not, you're on my watch-list, your promoted shitposts will get flagged during the last 12h anyway.

"Worry not, you're on my watch-list"

Yeah, that much is obvious. Apparently you don't like your hypocrisy pointed out.

Hey @grumpycat - I neither know you or @contentjunkie - I am just a guy who thinks your "fight" should stop - That's why I have a question for you! Would you be open to a deal?

@contentjunkie's part:
As of the start of the deal (better as of now) he stops the use of any booster for ten days
After the ten days, he only uses boosters on the first two days of a post

@grumpycat's part:
You don't flag him as long as he is following what I set for him above - it should be according to your whitelisting of boosters, even better (only 2 days instead of 3.5)

Would that be an option for you? And for you @contentjunkie?

No

May I ask why?

watch-list:

Rolex / Tudor.
Audemars Piguet.
Breitling.
Frederique Constant / Alpina.
ContentJunkie
Chanel.
Chopard.
Patek Phillipe.
Hermes.

Please upvote the comment please please please

It's not me - It's you

ಠ_ಠ

this is so weird!

You both claim the other's actions to cause your own while you both also accuse each other of acting out of nothing but greed?!

I guess that means both of you are questionable?!

No offense, I usually stay out of politics and this whole situation is way above me. I know I am not happy with all the boosted posts in hot/trending as it completely skews the organic discovery of quality content. I also know that the nature of the blockchain intrinsically allows for such economic models, though... I am not a fan of profit-motive driven social interactions but have to resort to vote buying myself to not stay "behind the curve"...

In short, I struggle to define what's right and what's wrong here but the irony of the situation doesn't escape me!

exactly, with all the fighting going on, minnows like me are getting squeezed... should I buy votes or should I not buy votes? I am so so confused

Do you see boosters as a pure method of making profit or as a tool to gain visibility?

Both profit and exposure. I've bought into rounds and paid more than I received plenty of times and I continue to do so for the extra followers gained from exposure and the rep from the upvotes. Although rep points dont actually do much.

I actually made more profit by promoting my posts early, that is until they started flagging vote buyers. Vote buyers adjusted and started buying on the last day hoping the flaggers wouldn't have time to hit them up.

Maybe it would help to show good will, stop using it on the last hours for 1-2 weeks, maybe stop for 1-2 weeks in general. Than just use it in the first 1-2 days and see if you get flagged again ;)

@Grumpycat would probably like that so I won't do it. Instead I'll just use him as inspiration for content and continue to expose his hypocrisy.

He's doing far more harm to Steem on a massive scale. More so than vote buyers ever could. At least vote buyers submit posts and try. He just upvotes hidden comment replies that are completely meritless.

Greetings I am from Venezuela, I just started in this social network, which without much time I observe that has much to offer. I would like you to help me grow with a simple upvote on your part. Thank you very much.

I would suggest you avoid begging for votes and focus on creating content that is worth voting for.

that cat looks so lovely.

This content junkie posts copy/pasted material, votes his own posts up 74 times with a voting trail, votes his comments up, buys votes. Basically any little loophole he can exploit, he does it. He'll flag you if you flag his trolling on your own blog and call it retaliation. The proof is all there. This content junkie guy is raping the reward pool any chance he can. He hoards all of that money to himself and does not care about the people he's taking it from. Who might he be robbing? Everyone who is a member here.

The only reason he's here bitching about what grumpycat is doing is because grumpycat is calling people out like contentjunkie for their bullshit. Contentjunkie doesn't have enough faith in himself to grow the value of his account naturally.

That's all this is. Smoke and mirrors.

When the thing obviously has some value, it would be bought and sold no matter how you opress such a market.

Sex obviously has value.
Drugs obviously has value.
STEEM upvote has double value - both exposure and reward.

Banning this will only make vote buying more profitable and people will resort to comment fraud to make their money.

https://steemit.com/rohit/@lovelygrandpa/rohit-bhatiya

this is funny and f*cked up all at the same time.

Buying votes are very risky now.

I think the steemit community and the whales the censor the upvote flages and others are to make some adjustment to this ways of going about this things. it's an abuse...

images.duckduckgo-10.jpg

I don't understand. Can someone explain this to me?

Some people have the patience and time to sit here flagging for fraud all day and others don't. Some people want to be a witness and others want to be entertained by using the site.

I don't understand why you cheer on grumpy when he does this exact same thing himself?

It was sarcasm XD but after finding the post above I thought I should bring it to someones attention... At the least prices should dip when this comment fraud pays out for the accounts involved because of the sheer volume of it.

i think if the community doesnt do something about users taking "their justice" into their oen hands, there is no future for this community. this has nothing to do with content creation or exchange of ideas or greedom of speech. if nothing is done about the whales flagging the community just because they can, there soon will not be a community left to flag. even the wording chosen as the title ("reign of terror") points to the future we all know we are heading towards if nothing is done to change course...

"Greedom" - a nice word play!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87