STEEMIT ADDED A PAGEVIEW COUNTER!!!

in #steemit7 years ago

I knew something was different about Steemit.com today. Little tweaks that I couldn't quite put my finger seemed to be present then I noticed something really cool. If you scroll down to the meta section of a post there is new icon with an eyeball showing the pageviews for a given article. Awesome work Steemit Inc!


Make sure to follow this profile @contentjunkie to stay up to date on more great posts like this one.

Sort:  

I don't like it as much as I thought I would.
I just made a post

It has 185 votes...and seven views.
I'm not sure how I feel about that but I'm depressed.
bots..

.I might as well be taking a page from the 1963 Sears and Roebuck catalog....for all that anyone is reading what I post.

bots..

It could be worse: more views than votes. I use SteemVoter to upvote authors who put out content I usually appreciate. I don't feel guilty when I don't get to read one of their posts I bot-voted because, I'm confident I'm still encouraging quality posters. On the other hand, there is stuff I read that I don't vote for and that I feel I lost my time acknowledging. In a sense, everything kinds of balance itself in the end.

If they start using it as a ranking metric you can probably expect to see pageview bots startup.

Captcha...should be required as a precondition to vote.

two can play at this game.
instead of 500 to 1500 words per episode.
why not less?
no PERSON reads them (very damn few) why not stretch it out as long as I can?
A paragraph...perhaps two, per episode.?
who would know?

This isn't to combat bots - bots do anything a human can do. Judging by the pace this site previously was updated - and the pace we are seeing updates now - I would say they probably coded these features a long time ago and have been waiting to implement them. There will likely be a spike in traffic on Tuesday Dec 6 with the hardfork becoming official. Whether the price of Steem spikes or dives - there will be press about the site and there will be visitors poking around..

but it is the truth.... it's good to know what really happens

Same here. Two recent posts I made suddenly got about 185 upvotes and a half-dozen or so views noted.

they're gaming the system.
suppose we were to game them back?
suppose we were to insert a page or twelve of pure nonsense in the middle of our post.
reckon anyone would notice?

Maybe I should let the cat sit on my keyboard after all.

I've been thinking about that very same thing.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.86 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I would like to know if it only shows steem users that view the page or anyone one.

Also my past post has a dozen comment and only 1 view so I don't think its retroactive..

As someone who hates bots and tends to spread my links on Twitter or Reddit rather than just catering to within Steemit, this is really great. Didn't even notice it down there, thanks for the post!

sharp eyes. I'm a huge believer in Analytics - every little bite helps :)

Pfff, so many other useful features that could be added, and it is always the most trivial and pointless ones we add first.

Steemit launched in April, it is now November, and we still don't have profile pages or a proper follow function; and do people still have to signup with Reddit or Facebook?

Cg

"do people still have to signup with Reddit or Facebook?"

No, they have to use a phone number now.

Strange; an email surely is the way forward?

Cg

The latest updates are AWESOME..!! Following and upvoted as always. Thanks for sharing.

I recently made a blog that your followers may have missed and would like to see.

The scalability of Steem and Steemit is simply mind blowing..!!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@stephenkendal/the-scalability-of-steem-and-steemit-is-simply-mind-blowing

Thanks again for sharing your blog. Stephen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29