You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Anarchists, Why shouldn't I cringe when you tell me you're an anarchist?

in #steemit8 years ago

It would appear mankind is incapable of not having leaders though. Either by choice or not. Seems to me it's hardwired into us willfully follow a leader or on the other side of the coin to conquer a people and make them follow you.

Sort:  

It certainly isn't hardwired into people in general to want to conquer other people. Only a few people in this world actually want to personally control other people, and they already do. They are elected by the people who want to indirectly control other people. None of that is hardwired into humans though. It's a learned behavior that people end up adopting because they are surrounded by it everyday in the current system we have. Most anarchists believe that anarchy is something people will eventually evolve into. We have to make government obsolete and replace the things people want a government to provide. We are doing that already to some extent with crypto-currencies and other technology. You know it was two anarchists that created Steemit right?

I wouldn't be so certain of that. We are indeed hardwired to distrust those outside of our tribe it's not difficult for our hardwired tribal nature to lead to war and conquest.

I didn't know Dan and Ned were anarchists but it also doesn't surprise me at all. I've been around the cryptocoin scene since Emu socks were the only thing you could buy so I'm well aware of the cultural cross over.

When I follow the train of thought about all the solutions required for various social issues it seems like we always arrive at something very similar to what we already have. So similar that I wonder why not just try to improve the current government to be more like what you desire rather than espouse abolishing it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62622.21
ETH 3446.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50