Why is bid bot usage falling, and what does it mean?

in #steemit6 years ago

If you follow @penguinpablo, you will be familiar with the daily and weekly Steem stats report. These report an a variety of activity going in the Steem blockchain, such as number of posts, comments and ammount of transacting accounts. One aspect I am interested in is the number of votes, and percentage of bot votes.

If we look at the most recent weekly stats report we can see, that bot usage ranges from 0.5% of all votes to 0.62% of all votes. When we look back at the report from around 3 months ago, we can see that bot useage was more rampant, with a range of 0.84% and 1.15% of all votes - thats a decrease of usage of up to 50% in three months! So what is causing this decline?

Decreasing profitability


One reason could be that in general bots are becoming far more tightly controlled, and thus less profititable. Looking at steembottracker.com, all but 2 of the bid bots now have controls for a 'maximum ROI' - gone are the days of bidding, and having a possility of making a nice profitable upvote. Im sure the falling price of Steem is also leading to bots being less profitable.

I dont know if someone has written a post recently about the profitibility of bots, but if you have I would love to read it!

Morality


I remember when I joined Steemit, and I found out about bid bots, and I thought I had hit a goldmine - mean really I can just buy votes, and my post will have a higher payout??? However, Im sure I am not the only one that found that over time, this had a negative impact on my time here, and felt a bit shady about paying for votes, rather than relying on manual curation. Now I dont pay for votes (apart from the very rare competition to increase its visibility), and it is a much nicer feeling when I get upvotes and comments from genuine people who have actually read my content.

ethics-2991600_1280.jpg

The rise of Dapps and delegation options


Recently I have become intrigued by the ammount of fantastic new Dapps on the blockchain, and how they offer value in so many ways. These Dapps generally take delegations for supporting there project, and offer certain benefits in return. I know that if people delegate to bid botd they get daily returns, but I find that delegating to a community I am a part of is a much better option for me.

@steem-ua is a perfect example - you can delegate from as little as 25SP, and in return you recieve upvotes based on your Steem-UA score. The great thing about this is that encoruages users to improve their content, and their engagement. Rather than just being able to upvote any post to treding, Steem-UA offers a more long term approach, and encourages constant development.

What do others do? Do you delegate to bid bots, or where does your delegation go?

What does all this mean?

I still think bid bots have there place here on the Steem blockchain - for example when new Dapps or projects are released I am all for them bidding up the introduction posts to trending so I am more likely to see it. However, it appears that for the everyday user the use of bid bots is steadily decreasing, and we are seeing many options and alternatives to using bid bots.

Bringing new money and investors into the platform is the key to the longterm success of Steem - in the past the options were mainly to invest in bid bots, and thus abuse became more rampant. However in the lead up to the release of SMTs there are now many more 'moral' ways for investors to spread their money, and help build the future of the Steem blockchain.

Do you still use bid bots? Are they still profitable for you? Are you delegating or supporting and Dapps - if what and why?

All images downloaded from royalty free website pixabay.com

DQmQzFM2sDp5wYpaoktgk9L8RzJCCwPgheNTHo23JUwfAGZ.jpeg

Sort:  

I believe that bots and buying votes is bad. It favours the ones that has a lot of power on behalf of newbies.

When you use steempower or Stemm$ to buy "bot upvotes" on your own post, that's power other contributers on steemit loose. I feel that is a bit "off" the intention of steemit: lets grow together.

Yeah well in most cases i agree but i think in certain cases like i mentioned above is fine - if theres a new dapp then it makes sense to have as many people see it as possible.

Well since i stopped using bots i have been enjoying myself more on here 😃

It good to have low bid bot usage. There were times when people make a single photograph post and push them to trending through bid hots.
Good to see the manual curation is coming back on steemit. A good way to keep hooked on steemit....
Power up...steem on

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah I agree a little bit of bot usage is fine to promote proper content - and those people that just bid up sub par content dont usually last long, and learn the hard way (by getting flagged).

The trend is interesting and I think it comes down to the balance that the ecosystem is looking for between whert people allocate their SP and for what purposes. I think there is ways to utilize bid bots for the best of the community but it can also lead to abuse. However, the community itself can also be the arbitrator of how these are used by supporting or flagging content. As the community becomes more passionate about the future, they will come together to provide a proper path for these and other services available.

Yeah exactly - people are realising there are better ways to delegate their SP - to places that actually add value to the blockchain.

It will be interesting to see how this develops over the coming months :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 158 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Bid bots are not good in my opinion. I like the potential of this site to connect actual people & share truly valuable information. Bid bots created a mass of vote buyers at the top of steemit who got the most exposure via investment not content. Seems like an even more efficient way of reinforcing the haves & have nots & growing that divide. I got excited about this platform & bought some steem before I realized just how dominant the bid bots were. Haven’t bought anymore steem since my initial purchase because of the bid bot culture & lack of confidence inspired by the management team.

It's up to all of us who are inVested in the #Steem blockchain, to be the change. You are invested. Let's make this place awesome, together.

It’s very interesting to watch it all develop & I continue to learn a lot from this site, that being said it could go away tomorrow & I wouldn’t be surprised or disappointed.

I try to stay active on this site & give my opinion where I think it can add perspective, but not convinced I’ll ever see a ROI or that this type of incentive based social media will be good for society in general. Crypto has been sold as a great equalizer to us all, but the reality looks like it could be much worse than the old system in regards to information sharing control. Money & voting power equals more control of this environment & is subject to all of the same human flaws as the old system.

Additionally, the more I observe the system, the more it seems like it’s potentially an alphabet gang creation, but I’m admittedly paranoid from being raised in a society filled with constant disinformation, fake history & technologies continually designed to remove any right to privacy.

Yeah I am the same I am learning more every day! I think that Steemit may not change the future but I think the Steem blockchain will - there are some real gamechangers out there at the moment - lots of exciting developments and Dapps going on.

It will certainly be interesting to see what the future has in store for Steem, but I remain very positive!

I see your point, but I think that a little bit of bot usage to promote certain posts is fine - it is just the greed of people that has gotten out of hand. Where there is money and a way to take advantage there will always be people trying to work the system.

. Haven’t bought anymore steem since my initial purchase because of the bid bot culture & lack of confidence inspired by the management team.
I dont think its down to the 'management team', but down to the community as a whole to decide what is acceptable behaviour and what warrants being flagged etc. I think we are moving in the right direction

I made a similar post about profitability drying up last week: https://steemit.com/steem/@tcpolymath/the-end-of-an-era-the-last-truly-profitable-vote-buying-service-dries-up

They are clearly in the process of eating each other.

Yeah I actually remember reading that one! Will be interesting to see what happens over the next few months

I do not like bid bots and I think it is good than the percentage of votes that they do is decreasing. However, I think the value of rewards coming from bid bots would be a more accurate stat to know if their influence is rising or dropping.

I must admit that I am using @schoolofminnows. It is a vote exchange system that uses the spare voting power of its members (it only votes when voting power is full). On one hand I find it useful, but on the other hand it's not that different from using bid bots.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah I have always wondered that aswell - but I see more and more dapps with larger delegations, which makes me think that people are starting to delegate to dapps rather than bid bots.

Thanks I will be looking into that :)

I am neither using bid bot. But I am buying votes from other services like minnowbooster, smartsteem, bdvote etc.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting - what do you see the benefits of these services are compared to bid bots?

It seems to me that profit is kinda better than bid bots. If bidders are more during a single bid, the profits margin reduces significantly.

I'm loving where this trend is going, and I see so many plankton powering up now compared to 6 months ago! Keep on Steemin beautiful people!!

Yeah the smaller accounts are finally starting to realise how the system works ☺

It good to have low bid bot usage. There were times when people make a single photograph post and push them to trending through bid hots.
Good to see the manual curation is coming back on steemit. A good way to keep hooked on steemit....
Power up...steem on

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68789.22
ETH 3862.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66