Some things to consider when delegating Steem Power

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

A couple of months back I decided when my account got to around 100 Steem Power I would investigate delegation (the more I learn I think 150SP might be a better aim), its pros and cons and whether it is an option for me (and other plankton!).

20180603_112943_0001.png

What is delegation?


Delegation is essentially letting another Steemian/bot borrow your Steem Power. ‘When a user is delegated Steem Power - their bandwidth, content votes, and curation rewards are calculated as if it were their own Steem Power’ (Steemit FAQ). This can give users more influence on Steem and can help them generate larger upvotes.

A common misconception is that delegating Steem Power is giving it away. This is simply not true - you are only leasing it to someone else, and you still own it, and can claim it back at any time subject to a 7 day ‘cool down’ period. Users cannot power down any Steem Power that has been delegated to them as it still belongs to the original owner.

As Steem Power is needed for bandwidth (to generate ‘transactions’ such as upvoting, posting and resteeming), new accounts are delegated 15 Steem Power by Steemit so they have a stable account to post etc on Steemit. As their account earns Steem Power this undelegated until they have 15 Steem Power of their own.

IMPORTANT - If you are considering delegating then it is VERY IMPORTANT to keep enough SP in your account for daily transactions (upvoting, posting, commenting and resteeming), and to avoid the bandwidth errors - this seems to be around 30SP

Why delegate?


So why would you want to delegate away that SP you have been working so hard to accumulate?

There are a couple of major reasons to delegate your SP:
  • To support a community you are a part of
  • To gain some passive income





For me, I want to delegate to give back to the community, as I believe that giving back and helping community initiatives is the best way for Steem to grow and be sustainable long term. We all know that getting started and getting any kind of traction is difficult, and I want to give back (even a small ammount) to initiatives that have community values, are interested in helping new/undervalued Steemians and have helped me in some way or another.

That cuts out a large majority of the upvote bots, who are often just out for profit - and it seems delegating to these would generate the best returns (in terms of passive income).

Interesting projects to consider delegating to


Community run bots - So for me this is @teamnz and @anzub - these are run by New Zealanders/Australians who have created a great and supportive community on Discord, and have also allowed me to use these bots, which have been a wonderful help getting myself started on Steemit. If I was to delegate to these bots I wouldn’t expect anything in return - I feel they have already been supportive enough and this would be my way of giving back to the community.

Curation bots - there are more and more of these manual curation bots out there - the largest is @curie, but I have also come across @asapers recently. The idea behind these bots is they have manual curators on the lookout for under-rated content and then upvote it with their bot. These bots/initiatives are focussed on highlighting quality content, and I believe that is a healthy thing for the future of Steemit.

@minnowsupport - Another great initiative - Minnow support have a great discord channel with loads of helpful and friendly Steemians (if you haven't joined then you probably should!). On top of this they also have a bot that members can use to gain an upvote on one of their recent posts.

@steembasicincome - Another great initiative which I believe in - you can ‘nominate’ Steemians to be part of the Steem Basic Income programme where they will receive upvotes on their posts in return. Every 20SP you delegate to SBI you receive a free share.

Conclusion


Delegating Steem Power is essentially letting others borrow it to increase their influence on Steem. There are many different initiatives here on Steem to consider delegating to, and this depends on what your long term goals on here are. If you have any questions, please let me know in the comments.

Reference - Steemit FAQ

DQmQzFM2sDp5wYpaoktgk9L8RzJCCwPgheNTHo23JUwfAGZ.jpeg

Sort:  

I was actually just thinking about learning a bit about this topic, so this came in rather convenient. How profitable is having steempower delegated to someone compared to having/using it by yourself?

I have this same question. :)

I have no idea sorry as im not doing it to profit from but at the moment i get very small curation rewards so i imagine it would be more beneficial to delegate - there are loads of bots out there offering differing rates if you delegate to them

I just looked into some numbers about how curation actually works. Still no idea what that does in regards to delegation.

@paparodin I know that some bots pay out to their delegators from the curation rewards they recieve from their bots...


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

You pretty much named where I delegate - @anzub, @steembasicincome, @minnowsupport and I also delegate to @mrsquiggle who curates team Australia content. Good luck with it :-)

@positiveninja good job :) always good to give back to the community!

Wow, I finally get the concept of Steem power delegation. Thanks for such an enlightening post.

No problems thanks for reading!

Awesome @positiveninja! Thanks :)


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations @conradt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Nicely informative post. :)
And thank you so much for your support, we appreciate everything!

When delegating, there is another thing to bear in mind once you have hit the 500SP threshold - whereby you move from plankton to actual minnow and get fun things like the voting slider - is that any delegation which drops you below that threshold also loses you those extra privileges. So I'd recommend that once you reach the magical 500, only lease out anything over that amount if you want to support others.

Of course you can actually do whatever you want, and feels right for you .. lol :)

Thanks @ravenruis!

It will be a long time till I get to 500 SP! Yeah I have bee using Busy.org lately where you get a slider for voting percentage even when you have less than 500 SP

A great topic that gets asked in many of the discord channels.
It sheds a light on SP delegation, that is understandable.

I am away from my computer for long periods during which my voting power goes to waste. So I sell voting power at a small level. I am left with plenty of VP when I do have time to vote, comment and interact.

Thats a great idea @roundhere - better than it going to waste!

I have my mentor to thank for almost all I know about SteemIt!

Thats good @roundhere - I just have to learn as I go ...

Are you on discord? Steemspeak channel has a lot of wisdom and experience. You could probably get answers to both simple and complex questions there.
They can be a little ruthless at times. so don't have a thin skin if you go there.
https://discord.gg/uTxM9b

Yeah I am on Discord - havent joined Steemspeak though - bt I will now cheers @roundhere :)

Meh ruthless is ok :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31