You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Steemit] Spam, Plagiarism and Flagging

in #steemit6 years ago

Im overly cautious when it comes to using images and just end up using pixabay etc to be safe.

Ive read up about fair use and its so complicate to understand. I agree that if you use an image you should definitely state its not yours and reference the source

Sort:  

As with most matters of law, it's an absolute rabbit hole. I follow a lot of YouTubers, and fair use is something that comes up an awful lot so I've kinda got familiar with it as a concept over the years.

The main two points to keep in mind is; does it affect the market for the original work? Is the amount of that work used appropriate and reasonable? So for example, if I'm doing a review on a TV show, I'm perfectly entitled to use a couple of screencaps of the programme in my review. It's more interesting with YouTube, where some users would just reupload the original work, with their face in the bottom corner "reacting" which is obviously abusing the system.

The other point about affecting the market for the original work, I see people just reposting instagram posts for example as again crossing that line of fair use. There's no transformative element to it, it's just clearly theft.

A good tool is the "Usage Rights" feature on Google Images, if you toggle that on it'll only show images that have been specifically labeled as fine for reuse (sometimes there might be limitations, such as using them for "commercial" work).

Yeah I figured I tried to understand it all and got a headache lol. I have the idea that on Youtube as you said as long as its 'appropriate and reasonable' then its fine. Yeah I hate those reacting videos, and there are so many of them.

Yeah well I know people talk about plagarism on Steemit but I havent found it to be to much of a problem...

Yeah Ive looked into the usage rights on Google and otherwise just use Wikicommons or any of the other free image sites

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66852.45
ETH 2597.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66