Could UUNIO compete with Steem?

in #steemit6 years ago

I recently came across a new blockchain based social media platform, UUNIO, which is proposing to fix some of the issues that Steem has faced over its 2 years. I had a read of the Whitepaper, and actually think that it has real potential to challenge Steem. The view and goals of UUNIO are similar to those of Steemit - to create a decentralised platform where curators and content creators are rewarded, rather than large corporations like Facebook, Youtube and Instagram, where the majority of the profit goes to making these companies richer and richer, and offer minimal rewards for the users that actually create the content.

pexels-photo-266246.jpeg

No More Whales

A huge part of Steem which I feel has failed is that the distribution of wealth hasn’t worked well. The idea laid out in the Whitepaper was that users who have a higher reputation score and more SP are more trusted by the network to upvote worthy content. However what has happened after the introduction of bid bots has been a number of negative consequences:

  • Reputation score now means very little (let me know if you disagree!) - if you want a higher reputation score you can basically just buy it by purchasing loads of upvote bots.
  • Many of the ‘whales’ have created their own bots and thus manual curation from larger accounts has decreased.

humpback-whale-natural-spectacle-nature-mammal-51964.jpeg

UUNIO aim to fix this by allowing each user 3 (up to 7 depending on user levels) ‘recommendations’ per day for content that they think deserves rewards
(It is a small number of recommendations and this might change over time). Each recommendation is created equally:

Users cannot recommend one content several times, and each recommendation has equal effects on the content. - UUNIO White Paper

I like this idea as I feel to get anywhere on Steem you really have to get attention from certain accounts (or invest a significant amount of FIAT). The onflow of this has been that many people complain about finding it super hard to get noticed on Steemit - even with great content. This recommendation system seems like a more fair approach to me. The big upside of Steem Power is that it encourages users to ‘invest’ in Steem and thus (in theory) will help the price appreciate over time.

An innovative way to support new users


New users are basically left to their own devices on Steemit, and there is no real incentive for the ‘whales’ or larger accounts to help out or upvote the many new accounts that keep coming in.

UUNIO aims to fix this issue in the following way:

One-third of the daily recommendation tickets must be used on new contents in order to cultivate new creators. This will ensure that UUNIO is not dominated by a set number of large content creators, and moreover ensure that stream of contents continue to trickle into UUNIO

Payouts don't mature


I'm not really technically minded when it comes to reading Whitepapers, but it seems to me that the aim of UUNIO is to have content that never ‘matures’, and can keep earning rewards if it keeps getting recommendations. On Steemit, after 7 days you get your payout and can’t earn any further rewards on the content. I have found this frustrating at times as I feel some of my best work has gone unnoticed for whatever reason, and after 7 days it has gone into the abyss. The idea is that by having only a 7 day payout period it will encourage Steemians to be active and create fresh and new content, which I can agree with.

I am definitely sticking with Steem for the long term as its still in its infancy and has massive growth potential. However, it's interesting to know what projects are going on out there in crypto land that could become potential competitors in the future.

Note - I am not a financial advisor! With the amounts of scam ICOs out there you have to be very careful - I just wanted to share this project as it brings up some interesting thoughts and reflections about Steem.

What are your thoughts about this? Do you think Steem needs to make changes to the way it rewards content?

DQmQzFM2sDp5wYpaoktgk9L8RzJCCwPgheNTHo23JUwfAGZ.jpeg

Sort:  

Is UUNIO actually up and running yet? Have you or do you plan on setting up an account?

My current foray here into SteemIt is as a current user (for the last 3 months) on https://minds.com, which is another crypto-powered social site. Over on Minds, content creators are paid with Ethereum (we're currently only on the Rinkeby Testnet, so all earnings currently are just "funny money" until the cutover to the Main Net), and there are many differences I've noticed to how things are done here on SteemIt, some things are better here, IMHO, and some things are definitely better on Minds. I'd be interested to see how this UUNIO stacks up. Thing is, I'm no expert on Minds or on SteemIt. I'm one of the newer users on Minds, even though I'm essentially the equivalent of a "Witness" there (being that, I have access to the dev's private, gated Asana community where bugs get squished). My experience here on SteemIt is of struggling to keep up with the other plankton, so far, hehe.

My experience here on SteemIt is of struggling to keep up with the other plankton, so far, hehe.
Were all in the same boat here plankton make up something like 90% of all accounts on Steemit.

I have heard others speaking of minds.com what are your thoughts? Might have to check it out

My thoughts of Minds.com can be summed up easily in two words: great potential. It looks like it is going to be great, but at present it is only in the very early stages yet. If the developers can foster a true open source community around their product, and if they implement true federation, then I see Minds becoming something awesome. It really depends on which way the developers intend to take it, and when it will come out from behind its iron curtain of secrecy and egomaniacal control.

My thoughts of Minds.com can be summed up easily in two words: great potential
This is how i feel about Steem some days!

Cool thanks im interested to have a look now 🤗

I think I need to start checking your posts before I post. This is a very interesting idea, and definitely seems to seek to address certain issues with Steemit.

Payouts not maturing is one of the issues I've seen quite a few people mention, and I totally get it. It feels as if anything over 7 days just doesn't get any attention, but if you're writing about topics that aren't topical or only relevant to a certain time period, they get lost in the abyss.

Going to have to go read up on UUNIO now, might be worth taking part in the ICO if I still can. Although do you have any idea how that is pronounced?!

There is many things that have gone wrong with Steem... One is that a lot of times reward per post drops too low during the very last hours of the 7 day period when people can't upvote them anymore. Another is that many exchanges have had issues with Steem and SBD deposits and withdrawals and forced to disable their wallets. People are getting really frustrated trying to find exchanges that still have the wallets enabled and have also other interesting coins.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

On Steemit, after 7 days you get your payout and can’t earn any further rewards on the content. I have found this frustrating at times as I feel some of my best work has gone unnoticed for whatever reason, and after 7 days it has gone into the abyss. The idea is that by having only a 7 day payout period it will encourage Steemians to be active and create fresh and new content, which I can agree with.

This part actually frustrates me quite a lot as well. I am not sure about this Uunio, I never heard about it, but it may be worth a look and just running both wouldn't be too much of a deal, really.

I am not really sure about whether I like being "forced" to support new users either. It sounds like a good intention executed badly to me. Can't really point my finger on why, though.

This sounds like a good idea to me because it will encourage those that have been on the site longer to also support those coming in. With a growing and nurtured group you will see larger growth rates then you see here on Steemit. Because the newer accounts here still have to fight with accounts that have been here for awhile for any amount of attention they may get!

Tried to sign up. They don't have a Country Code for Americans. Just American Samoa. For what ever reason. Sure seems racist to exclude American's as it looks like most of the rest of the world is included.

It doesn't explain it just wont accept a password even if you follow there letter + number + symbol instructions. It will give you hints when the other fields need to be filled out. Just when you get to the password it won't accept it, but gives you the instruction for filling it out. As I explained following the instructions doesn't do anything.
UNNICO bull.png

They also don't have anyway for you to contact them for problems. Wonder if they know this is actually a kind of proof regarding consideration. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94