You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's "Voting Power" and Why You Shouldn't Vote TOO MUCH...

in #steemit7 years ago

Thank you @msg768! Every day I'm learning something new here :)

I checked my stats at steemd and it says on the bottom right "account snap shot taken 17 hours ago". It's true because the number of followers doesn't match my current one. Does that mean it shows the voting power of 17 hours ago, too? It currently shows just under 90%, which is strange because I haven't made 40 upvotes yet this morning (it goes down only after 40 votes, right?)

Sort:  

No worries. No the voting power is up-to-date as far I'm concerned. It goes down by each vote not after 40. Each vote consumes about half a percent I think so 40 votes would take you down to almost 80% but this is all just an estimate because the actual math behind it is quite complicated! :)

OH OK thank you. I thought it would say at 100% and only start going down after the first 40 votes. Thank you!
Yes, some things are a bit complicated here :) On one hand I admire the attention to detail and all possible outcomes that seem to have been included in the math, on the other it makes it impossible to understand and remember for a common human, I think :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44