2222 Steemit followers: not as important as a handful of personal Steemit relationships

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This week I got a lot of new energy to post more on Steemit again.

On Monday I met up with @germansailor and @sabine-reichert. We spoke about all things Steemit: earnings, relationships and auto-votes.

I heard myself say that "now is the time to post post post”, when the Steem/SBD prices are low. It’s basically like “buying the dip” when you invest in crypto with your own money.

Of course I was very aware at that moment, that I myself had not been posting consistently recently.

Untitled design.jpeg

Pretty much everything is post-worthy

One reason is that we Germans are too concerned with quality work. I mean, I’m NOT encouraging to post stupid, low quality content, but often we have too high standards or expectations on ourselves, in regards to what is "post-worthy”.

I think many of us suffer from a "hard work ethic”, which means that if we didn’t put a lot of effort in an article, it’s not worth anything. And so we’re very surprised when we do get a lot of upvotes on the very few occasions that we simply post an image spontaneously, without putting a lot of hard work in.

Lesson: post more! It’s about regular updates, more than perfect updates. And maybe our (human) followers will actually appreciate short content that they can easily consume?

Result: While I had completely different things on my to-do list on Monday - I was so motivated after our conversation, that a whole week’s worth of content poured out of me and I had stop myself from posting everything at once! All my daily posts of this week are a result of that Monday.

Speaking of human followers

I crossed the 2222 followers mark this week. In the past, I always celebrated the 111, 222, 333 followers marks. In the meantime I know that half of them are bots, so it doesn’t count as much anymore.

Plus, I noticed that the number of followers makes absolutely zero difference to my earnings on Steemit.

Seriously.

I am getting between 15-25 upvotes per post on average. It’s been like that forever - regardless of how many followers I’ve had. 75% of my upvoters are always the same people, which shows me they have me on auto-voter, which I am super grateful for.

And why are they auto-voting my content? Because we've met in person. At Steemfest, during my travels, or here in Berlin. @germansailor, @sabine-reichert and me also decided to put each other on auto-voter from now on. Simply to support each other. It makes such a difference when you have met in person.

Of course, I wish people would comment and connect and have a nice conversation more often - it’s not just about the money after all. But then again - I haven’t had the time to really comment meaningfully for a while, either.

We all go through phases where we have less or more time to connect here, and isn’t an unconditional upvote something super special during those times? “Sadly I don’t have a chance to read every single piece of content at the moment, but in the meantime I want to support you anyway!”

I’ve been thinking about auto-voting a lot, and I’ll share my thoughts on them tomorrow.

Sort:  

This week I got a lot of new energy to post more on Steemit again.

Partially because you are anticipating great things for Steem? :)

I heard myself say that "now is the time to post post post”, when the Steem/SBD prices are low. It’s basically like “buying the dip” when you invest in crypto with your own money.

I agree with this, but I have been posting so much for so long, I'm mixing things up a bit... Posting less so I can work on more funny animations... I surely hope it won't backfire :)

Congratulations for 2222, next stop: 3333! :)

Hello @overkillcoin

Inspiration can come from anywhere and most times I see myself not posting for those and this is not because of lack of content.

I have a 101 things I can spin out but most times the vibes is not there. I just use that time to read a book or watch a movie and most times I get recharged and make a post about something else I never planned to write about.

It actually happened today, I did not want to post anything but after going online. I found out that Real Madrid Coach retired and next thing I found myself hacking away at my keyboard because the news touched me.

I love your animations BTW and I am happy you use them for your posts, they are always a breath of fresh air.

@ogochukwu

Posting less so I can work on more funny animations...

Yes, don't stop the animations! And the pencil sharpener work. And everything. It doesn't matter if it's only every other day ;) At least then I won't miss that many!

Partially because you are anticipating great things for Steem? :)

I wish I were a little more psychic, but from where we are right now, things can only go up, right?

RIGHT???

Not only on Steemit...

congratulations on the quadra-bi landmark! Its interesting what you say about shorter posts.....I havnt posted in a long time because I don't feel able to post my inane thoughts, I always feel like I need to have created something more.....Im not sure if I can shift that attitude, but its probably good to at least have it challenged.....

Quadra-what?? 😄
With all the creative effort you put into your songs and Steemfest vlogumentary (have we seen all episodes yet??) I think you’re totally allowed to make short posts every now and then :) I would upvote it! 😊

hehe.....no it is still no wherre near complete.....I havnt touched it in 3 months! someday soon perhaps... :)

This is like when you're favorite tv series goes on "summer break" for a year...

Loading...

always like to see you popup in my feed! new month energy! :)

<3

Oh liebe Anja, das freut mich sehr zu lesen, dass du so viel Energie aus unserem spontanen Treffen ziehen konntest und wieder im Schreib-Flow bist! Und weißt du was? Es beruht auf Gegenseitigkeit! Mir geht es ganz genauso, ich habe diese Woche auch täglich mit Freude geschrieben. Schön oder? So muss es sein, dass wir uns gegenseitig inspirieren.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74