LITTLE THINGS PEOPLE IGNORE BUT VERY PROFITABLE ON STEEMIT

in #steemit7 years ago

I have heard about the popular quote or saying that time is money but I think I understood this clearly when I joined steemit. It feels like I'm loosing a lot of money when I excuse myself from the platform for a while. We all know that every minute on steemit count when you are able to utilise it very well.

Source

Today I would to talk about little things people ignore but very profitable to their journey on steemit . I believe these are some things are that helpful to your growth on steemit and it is something we should always consider.

BEING A READER

Sometimes I ask myself whether people actually read post on steemit. You visit a post and see a huge number of votes but no comments or just two on three comments and you wonder whether they actually read it or not. Are some steemians interested only in voting?. I believe reading is very essential to discovering more on steemit. I discovered most of the things I know about steemit through reading and I must say doing that has been very helpful.

Many post contains great ideas and secrets that can help us discover more and grow fast on steemit but often times we ignore the essentials and focus on just making huge curation rewards by upvoting.

My introduction post alone fetch me $111.98 dollars in few days because I had to read many introduction post samples to discover what will make people show interest and vote massively, it is not like I knew how the turn out will be but then reading made me do a good job.

Here is how I introduced my self , a link to the post can be found here and here is a screenshot:



@collinz.jpg

Everyday I try to read more post especially from people who have made it on steemit and each day I discover something new that is useful to survive on steemit. You cannot do away with reading on steemit.

BEING A GOOD COMMENT GIVER

A lot of people only think about posting and waiting to receive some dollars and ignore other ways by which they can make money easily on steemit. One of the best ways I have earned more is by commenting. Commenting alone to me can even give more beneficial returns than even posting.

Just few days ago I decided to dedicate my time to view other people's post, read them and give good comments and to my amazement, it was like I should scream when I saw that about six comments I gave had all received about $2.60 each in just one day which sum up to $15.56 this was incredibly good and it really motivated me... Here are the screenshots as a proof:



Screenshot_2018-01-16-08-00-33.png

Screenshot_2018-01-16-08-00-51.png

Screenshot_2018-01-16-08-01-25.png


I have been to many post and I have seen this idea working for people. Here is one comment @berniesanders which actually gave the writer $211.84, an amount perhaps a post wouldn't have fetched him.

Screenshot_2018-01-16-08-22-44.png

It really feels great when you see that people have enjoyed reading your post base on the comments they give and this always move you to give some reward. If fortunately someone who is good and have a high SP finds your comment to be interesting and nice he easily gives a good reward.

Here is an example of good comment @surpassinggoogle took delight in and as a result rewarded handsomely:

Screenshot_2018-01-16-08-32-04.png

And here is another one:

Screenshot_2018-01-16-08-33-51.png

BEING A CLOSE FOLLOWER

I have about have 522 followers now and the number is increasing daily. Do you think I will be able to notice everyone who is following me now? Honestly it is really difficult noticing all your followers unless you are also following them all.

People take delight in the fact that you can be spotted ones you follow someone of influence(a whale) on steemit. Unless you are following a person to learn something new, upvote their post you see on time or discover new ideas from them then following doesn't guarantee that you will be noticed by them.

However something that helps them take notice of you is when you start visiting their post regularly. Voting someone's post is helpful as it gives you some curation rewards but it becomes more helpful if you combine my first two points to voting: reading and giving good comments.

With the power I have now I don't think voting a whale daily will make him notice me quickly, other whales or dolphins will surely be taking the lead.

Look at this picture and tell me I will be able to know all the other 207 people who voted this post, let assume I'm a WHALE already...lol which I will be one day! , perhaps they voted on time than those whose ID have surpassed them and have appeared first.

Screenshot_2018-01-16-08-05-47.png

Though any author can use steemit helpful tools or apps like the steemd.com, steemnow.com, esteem app to know all those who voted but do you think he will have the time for every post?

Here are all those who voted for me on this post when I used the steemd.com to check:

Screenshot_2018-01-16-08-07-09.png

Screenshot_2018-01-16-08-07-51.png



But the question is: how many people will always get the time using this site to know all those who voted for them. This is why it is necessary to follow closely if you want to be noticed by a whale you follow.

So how do you follow closely?

You follow someone closely by: visiting their post regularly and upvoting, reading their post, Being first to comment or always commenting - this part is very important and necessary especially for minnows and resteeming their post.
I have tried it and has worked for me and may be it will take some time but will eventually get you noticed whales.

Do you have any suggestions or any useful ideas to share; I would like to hear from you

it's @collinz from Ghana

Sort:  

You never know who is watching.... Steemit is full of opportunities... You may think you were just doing a mere thing but would turn out to be your greatest asset.

Make sure you do it right all the time

Very true @anaman, steemit is sometimes unpredictable

Wow!! @collinz, this is really educational for newbies and even some oldbies too because they don't know yet.

Good job.

@yaanivapeji

Thank you my friend, good to see you

@yaanivapeji

Thank you @collinz. Same here.

I very nearly marked this as tl;dr that's a lot of examples. :-D

You're absolutely right, the trick is to be a Good Steemian. What do we mean by that? By interacting with other members with meaningful comments, not those annoying ones of "I upvoted you, upvote me!" or "Please follow me!" tbh I hope people who do that remain plankton for a long time until they learn the errors of their ways.

Be selective who you follow, remember you can always unfollow if they become boring. There is no way you can read more than 200 followers work every day anyway unless your only income is Steemit. Just because someone has 5000 followers means nothing, a quarter of those could be bots.

Resteems are actually of more value to new users than anything else. If I resteem you that means your work will come to the attention of my followers and if they resteem you too you'll come to the attention of their followers and so it snowballs.

@dickturpin, these are great ideas and suggestion you have shared, many minnows like me started the journey not knowing the things we are sharing now so I was making mistakes here and there. This is why I try as much as I can to always read and search for information myself because nobody will tell you some of these things until you read and discover. Thanks for your awesome ideas

I m relatively new to the community and i want to learn many things from you to grow my income and followers. Stay blessed bro.

@mmasim, I'm glad you want to grow and I would advise that you focus on growing your steem power by powering up, things were really difficult for me when I started on steemit, it was very discouraging when all my post received less votes but still I used everything I earned to power up, imagined what my steem power would be by now if I was hitting a jack pot every time I post something like my introduction post. I have been buying steem from bittrex just to power up because I believe that's what gives you influence on steemit. Focus on that and if there is anything you want to know feel free to ask and I'm i will be of help and I'm sure there are good and great steemians around to also help.

I think the most important thing is being genuine. I have seen many people saying "Nice post" but then that isn't genuine and the writer will know that. I will only comment if I genuinely feel something is good or if I can add something of value to the post. I wish everyone on steemit understood this. Thank you for your post, I really hope that everyone who is starting out can understand the importance of meaningful comments.

Thank you too @adityabhat for reading and for your good advice

BEING A GOOD COMMENT GIVER

This is the big one for me. I love to comment and read through comments. Sometimes you learn more from the comments than you do from the actual post!

That's very true @goldendawne, I'm so glad to see you here, you are an inspiration to us thank you

Thanks for all the examples. It solidifies my beliefs that if one only comments they can still earn a ton on steemit.

Targeting the right people is key. I probably post about 20 comments a day and earn about 1 SBD on a good day. The effort to read and comment is a lot more than people may think. Yet some people like you and I enjoy doing this and now I am certain I can thrive on this. Hope we can continue our success on Steemit. Thanks.

Targeting the right people is absolutely the key, not every steemian will be generous to reward the effort you have put into writing a good comment....@mawit07

You are providing very good information! I also learned after the first few weeks that commenting provides more opportunities. I am experimenting with the resteeming services (some free) with my own posts.

It is good to experiment many things on steemit to know which one works for you because steemit involves a lot, go on and try it out, thanks @industriousliv

Resteemed 20%upvoted

@collinz,

Enjoyed your post.

Salutations. JaiChai here.

RE: Your Post

Sound advice for everyone. Well done.

Upvoted, continuing to follow and calling @originalworks and @steem-untalented upvotes for your post.

May you and yours be well and loving life today.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

I'm glad you have enjoyed reading my post, thank you @jaichai

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @collinz to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87