The Steemit Wikipedia article is in danger. Cleaning it up - first steps done :)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers. I have started to improve the Wikipedia article for Steemit which was nominated for deletion.

I think the Wikipedia article is a crucial resource to inform about our social news community.

Unfortunately, the Wikipedia article about Steemit was marked for deletion. I have registered at the English-language Wikipedia and have started to clean it up. I cannot promise that it will be kept, as Wikipedians often are skeptical with articles about cryptocurrencies, but I'm doing my best. I will try during the next days to include some content from the Steem whitepaper, so the article becomes accurate and describes the subject correctly.

I'm inviting everybody to help. If you want, you can share references like articles in the press, steem-related websites and so on, because for a subject to be "notable" in Wikipedia it must have references that prove its notability. I can cite them in the Wikipedia article if you're unfamiliar with the editing mechanism.

I have some experience with Wikipedia, but I'm active mostly in the Spanish and German sections. As I'm not a native English speaker, you can also correct my errors in the Wikipedia article - I'll upvote you if you share your corrections in the comments (but be warned, I've not a high amount on Steem Power ;-) ).

Edit: First step is done, I've done a major cleanup and added sources - you can see my edits here. I hope the deletion request is now a thing of the past. If someone has an interesting source or idea, you can propose it in the comments and I'll add it in the next days.

Sort:  

Great work! Please continue and post at Steem about your progress so Steemians can up-vote.

Thank you. I think now the article is basically usable. What I'm wanting to add still is:

  • a section about the user interface. As it is continually changing, here I would like to wait some weeks.
  • expand the section of the monetary system with more Whitepaper content. That would be in small steps and not inmediately, as I have still to understand some concepts in detail.
  • some images. I must still look if screenshots and the logo can be posted under the terms of the CC-BY-SA license or if e.g. the logo must be grayed out or redrawn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48