With great steem power comes great responsibility!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I woke up yesterday morning and I thought I had died and gone to Steemit Heaven!

steemit-heaven.png

It was the morning after the Hard Fork 19 and all my dreams and wishes came true at once. The Steemit community improved the voting algorithm, and now my posts were making more rewards, and to top everything off my voting power went up at least four fold if not more! What is even more spectacular is that Steemit did all this without generating any more supply of steem, no inflation whatsoever came from this experiment!


June 20th, 2017 Marks the beginning of the Golden Age of Steemit!

The new era of enlightenment is upon us, and it is the holders of steempower’s responsibility to use their votes wisely. If any of you are familiar with coding from the terminal on Debian, Ubuntu, or Linux, you would be familiar with the message

"With great power comes great responsibility!”

This is the message that comes up in the terminal when you give yourself sudo privileges for the first time! I remember whenever I saw this message I thought it was really cool. Sudo privileges remind me of steem power, it is a great power to wield, but you must be extremely careful and diligent when using it! It is up to you and only you to be responsible with your vote, so we can all experience the true digital golden age that is coming! Our current situation after the hard fork leaves us in a new world, and reminds me of the song Cortez the Killer, by Neil Young.

“The People worked together. And they Lifted many stones!”

Actually Amazon Alexa decided to play Dave Matthew’s cover version of this song both yesterday and today when I was writing this post, so I thought it was a sign! In our case the hard fork came dancing across the water, lets just not let it become Cortez the Killer! Here is a link to the lyrics:
http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/neilyoung/cortezthekiller.html

(Here is a video embed of the song below)

I thought the quote above could relate to steem power and voting because if we all work together and vote responsibly we can lift many stones, or minnows, which will lift the entire community. Working together means curating others, not just working with yourself up voting only your own comments 100% ! What would you rather be one person carrying one big stone, or a community carrying buckets of gravel? The more stones we get in other peoples hands the greater the value of the network. This means we need to up vote good content over our own content, so if you have one vote left and you have to choose between voting for yourself or someone else, pick them!

Steem Trading & Price Predictions

What good would this trading blog be without a price prediction and chart, check below to see! In the last few days since the hard Fork the price of steem has been in decline. I think a lot of the selling pressure is due to future expectations of this extra steem from higher payouts reaching exchanges in the form of Steem and SBD. There are a lot of predictions right now that SBD may go back down to it’s natural dollar price as…

“People Making Hay While the Sun is Shining!”

Horse Pulling Hay.jpg
Image Source

SBD price going down may be the case, but might not be all that bad because I don't see a 50-60 cent drop as anything significant.

Theres also a lot of FUD on the street about the price of steem going down too! However my prediction of the steem price, is higher, way higher! Check out this chart from Bittrex below. It shows the steem price bouncing off the 50% high probability buy spot!

steem-fibonacci-06-21-17.png

The market participants selling out of their steem on these dips are not pricing it right. They must not understand, or care to understand the real value of steem when it is simply powered up and utilized! The more you have, literally the more you can have! These same people selling could now just power up instead and up vote their own posts, or comments, (those guys would be the self comment uprooters anyway!)LOL I don’t know what are they thinking and have been thinking for the last year! In thew light of this we should be very happy they are selling us the cheap steem because my short term price prediction for steem is $8-$10 per steem! Our voting power went up four fold, meaning the true value of steem power is four times more than the day before the hard fork. Today I followed my own advice, and picked up some more steem power and powered up my surfing blog account @honusurf.

Thank you steemit for giving us our cake, and letting us eat it too! Not only did we get more rewards, and a constant annuity of foreseeable rewards on our posts for the foreseeable future, we also got a price discount on the one thing that makes it all possible, go Steempower go!

If you like this post please up vote, follow, share, resteem, comment to me @coininstant (I will up vote your comment so you don’t have to!)

Sort:  

@CoinInstant The second paragraph literally makes me people like a Lord Of The Rings scene when I read it :D Nice post brother! Keep up the quality content. PS. I gave you a follow ;)

I don't see how it could currently be possible (anything is technically possible) for Steem to loose value in the near future. Once all of us amazing Steemians tell our friends, who's friends tell their friends, etc.... It is currently just to lucrative for anyone to pass up. I just transferred a large position of my total crypto into Steem and SP. As an investor there is nothing better than putting stock into something that you can use and be a part of on the daily. We are truly blessed. Now let's not f*** this up! Cheers 🍻

Yes, because we are all shareholders, the mindset we will all possess is that of taking care of our investment. That's what will keep Steemit around for a long time if not forever!

Let's not f*** this up!

Like in the Bible
"Whoever has will be given more, and they will have an abundance. "

It's a great concept by steemit

@coininstant You are very good friends to share and help each other ,,, thanks a lot my friend

Thank you for the positivity regarding the hard Fork, I am new and have been confused all day on if this is a good thing or not! Followed, looking forward to more of your posts

It's good for us.

I do read different articles when ever they are talking about steemit. I am still very new so I have a long way to go, I feel. I pressed on the promote and it said it will cost me 1 steemit dollar but I only have two steem dollar in my wallet. I want to keep hold of what very little I have.

The update was great for newer accounts like mine. The boost was a big help. =)

Followed you!

We are not dreaming friends, we are in heaven steemit. This is the paradise of the world. Make more money

What a quality post and a great title. Fantastic work. I gave you a 100% upvote. You remind me of me. hahaha...

Seriously though, if you keep posting stuff like this... What am I saying? Of course you will. FOLLOWED!

By the way, the "responsibility" part is something we're all going to need to learn for the betterment of all of us.

Yes, totally. It might be hard to get disciplined right now but with time it'll make more sense to be more responsible. That's just how this community is designed to be: United. Selfishness won't get you far. It's like, we give to get, and get to give, so that we get again... And so the cycle goes.

It is good to see that this paradigm shift / hardfork is benefiting someone. For me I have observed the total opposite. My posts are making absolutely nothing - not that I was making anything before, and my comments are mostly going ignored. I guess when you posts are garbage, your posts are garbage. Best of luck and enjoy living the dream, as me I will go back to living the nightmare that you can call my life

Your not wasting your time, I checked out your blog I am following now! You deserve a raise!

The only raise I have ever seen on here is when I get out of my chair. lol Thanks though. You are followed as well.

I just added you to my bots at 100%, so be responsible with it!LOL

lol thanks a lot, now that I am being watched, I will most definitely try to increase the quality of stuff that I am posting.

The true supportive spirit that holds the Steemit community together! Great work!

Name checks out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57606.89
ETH 3164.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28