Steemit needs to shy away from using error messages for communicating whenever possible!

in #steemit7 years ago

I was browsing around steemit.com the old fashioned way, on my own without any bots, and I found a post by @Timsaid that I liked. The post is "Tim Travels A Day in the Vineyards", however I noticed this new message for the very first time when I placed my vote. **"Cannot increase payout within last twelve hours before payout" **

There must be a better way to communicate with users than displaying error messages, it could give some new users that are not paying attention the wrong idea. This is only beta, so it is good, but when we move on, these messages should be more like notifications, use less red colors, and also they should be somewhere on the top of the page where they don't cover up other posts.

The way the error messages are now, they show up so fast, and can be hard to read and understand before they auto dissapear. The way steemit is using these error messages is wrong because they tend to shift the burden of sorting out voting rules onto the users, when it is not our job, not one bit! Our job is to find a post we like from a pool of votable posts, and be able to vote on it as quickly as possible and pay out the content creator no matter what. Weather it be within the last twelve hours of a payout, or 160 days after a post. Steemit voting should always be seamless! If we try to pay out, and then fail, then we feel like we did something wrong, we don't wan't to make our users feel anything negative. Instead of showing an error message, could steemit divert these votes to another round of payouts in a temp wallet for the next HF, and let the author manually collect these rewards? This small amount could add up to a lot of rewards for authors over time, and then @timsaid could get my two cents, this is just my two cents!

Sort:  

@zurvanic I agree with this guy. The error messages could look better in some way. Also one thing Steemit needs imo is a sexy log in screen. Sort of like facebook but better. Something that looks and feels futuristic. Imagine logging into Steemit.com's log in screen with the Earth floating in space in the background on a loop video feed. That is sort of what I am thinking...we need a proper landing log in page. Just a random idea for you to feed on...Reddit I know does not have this..but imo would be neat.

that would detract from the SEO juice that Steemit has (changing the home page) -- the way it's set up now it benefits all members of the platform; Where as the only ones that benefit from Facebook, is Facebook. (highly recommend reading a few articles on here about the SEO friendly aspect) - which is what most high ranking sites have; Including Reddit; even YouTube; sites like these are SEO Friendly and benefit the users --- not a bad suggestion however --- I'm actually here because I'm new and wanted to know what that Error message meant lol; I just got it and was like what?? lol --- happy Steeming ;)

I'm here because I just got the message as well, but I still didn't get it 😅
And I totally agree with OP! Things should be easier.

Yes, the many postings about this refuse to explain what the message means.

If we cant vote for some reason, don't show us the upvote button.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67279.52
ETH 3104.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78