What am I doing wrong? How can I get my articles noticed?

in #steemit8 years ago

So a few weeks ago, I joined Steemit with the intentions of bringing my CoinCutieBlog to Life! I'm having trouble understanding how to maximize exposure of the articles? To date, I have about 5 articles up and I posted my verified picture. Being able to connect with fellow cryptolovers in the community + being incentivized for creating content is one of the main reasons I joined. 

Can you tell me what I'm doing right and what I may be doing wrong? Why am I not seeing better returns.  How come some people's articles make .5cents and others make $5,000? Are there better times to post? How often should you be commenting and upvoting others? Do you need to buy a ton of steem power to help with your own rewards? How do you increase visibility? 


  • I've done the proper tags
  • I've done the verification
  • I've done upvoting of some reply posts
  • I've optimized the titles
  • I've tweeted and promoted the content outside of the network


Can you give me some good strategies on how to get these articles noticed and rewarded?






Sort:  

Hi @coincutietv

I looked through your posts, the ones from two weeks ago. I think you did pretty much everything right. There's always going to be an element of luck in the beginning in SteemIt, because it's so "whale" oriented. That will change with time, the whale's relative stake is being rapidly diluted.

Although another possibility is that your first post looked a bit too good, without a verification. You are an extremely good looking person, the kind of person a fraudster will find on the internet and pretend to be. A whale (@recursive) saw your post and said he wanted verification. Since first impressions have such a lasting effect, some people probably moved on quickly and just thought that your account wasn't real. By the time you made a real verification, they didn't see it.

Either way, the way to beat luck is to make many rolls of the dice. If you stick around and make good content, something will catch someone's attention and from there you'll have a platform to go further. With one $500 or $1000 post, lots of people will have seen and remembered your profile for the next time. You may also have followers who will automatically vote you up each time.

Good luck :-)

I 2nd what @demotruk wrote and will add 2 quick tips. 1, remain active in the community of STEEM, meaning comments and replies. 2. Try to emulate what the consistent Top Bloggers are doing and then write/post about something that drives you or you have passion for will usually work best. Good luck. Read up. And most importantly, Stay up.
Full $teem Ahead!
@streetstyle

You think she cares about being active ? Other girls got 15K and she got a few cents. She's pissed off like hell and won't contribute anything unless she gets what she deserves.

@nojoh Yes, it's disappointing to spend 2 hours writing and editing your introduction, sourcing photos and formatting the article... Just for it to be meaningless to the community. My intentions for this blog is to deliver value, knowledge on the topics in most interested in and passionate about. I will keep blogging, but I'm still very much interested in understanding the foundation of why some posts generate more than others.

@coincutietv Yes, it can be, has happened and will happen again. The thing to remember is that this is a new platform and a new paradigm even. It has room for exponential growth and the time to build your on your small part of the STEEMIT platform is NOW. Build your network of friends and followers now and be rewarded later.
FULL $TEEM AHEAD!
@streetstyle
[my blog](https://steemit.com/@streetstyle

Your post was nice, the guy who needed to up vote it was in the toilet at that time, so that's the most logical reason you didn't get noticed in the first place.

Also by your looks at your place i would be looking for a nice guy to be my BF/Husband instead of trying to make a buck online. Because nice looks don't last forever, capitalize it while you can.

@najoh , she should start to care if she wants to contribute as a writer/Content creator here on Steemit.com. If she wants to get rewarded for her contributions they will have to have some merit. If you are Social Media Famouse, which most of us are not, then you will post anything and get paid. Nothing has changed, the real world is still the real world. Only difference now is that here on STEEM, even the little guy can partake of the bounty.
@streetstyle

@najoh lmao as 2chainz says...tru..... !

Thank you for these awesome tips. What are the top categories you like to read on Steem it?

for now, I believe on the STEEMIT homepage, on the right hand side you have a list of categories/hash tags. They are both I believe. The top one I believe are most likely the most popular so try to use "steemit" and then others based on your topic. Try to use the appropriate tags and yet the most popular. It helps, but will most likely help more when there many more users. It is still early here on STEEMIT.
GOOD LUCK and more importantly, enjoy and have fun with what you are doing.
@streetstyle

Thank you for this sweet tip and positive encouragement. I sincerely appreciate it.

Thank you for this feedback. I'm going to keep at it. Many people are saying there's an element of luck on here. I'm going to focus on delivering "an experience ". Correct me if I'm wrong, but does this community seem more like a journal? It seems the members are more interested in having a small window into each other's lives and we put a high value on shared interests. How do you feel about that?

What he said :)

My biggest tip is to remember that Steemit is a social network, with emphasis on both of those words (social and network).

So, you first need to be social. Pretend like you're a stranger showing up a a party that's already a under way. What would you do first? You'd mingle. You'd socialize. You'd comment on other people's clothing. You'd try to work your way into existing conversations.

And then, once you'd made friends and developed some confidence, you'd find your voice. You'd speak and expect your friends to listen and comment on your thoughts (because you spend time doing that with them first).

What you wouldn't do is show up at the party and expect to everyone to drop their conversations and focus on you. (I'm not saying you've done this).

So, again, just engage, be social, and keep posting. You'll get noticed, I promise.

I will keep that in mind.

hey, it's like that Silento song 0 :)
Watch me, watch me

Deleted

That wasn't very helpful . I'm looking for solid strategy.

Though it was not well articulated, there is a point there. You have to pander to your audience if your only goal is $$$. Apparently, people don't currently want to read about designing websites or how you became a swimsuit model (at least not right now). Also, I would shy away from advertising any site to "get a discount". Your titles are a little clickbaity, and appear to be more advertisement and less human interaction. Sure, your content may be great, but are you a real person that's trying to engage a real community, or are you here to advertise and try to cash in? Steemit is young, there aren't a comparatively large number of people here yet. If I want 5 ways to do anything or "X of Y # 7 will blow your mind" I'll head to buzzfeed. I'm not trying to be offensive, but as others have said there's an element of the slot machine to this site. You pull the lever with your content, and see what happens. Maybe it's the time of day you post? Maybe instead of focusing on instructional web development, you could humanize it a little with smaller stories about your ADVENTURES in web development. Dazzle us with your experience, and use your knowledge of your key topics to do so.

@quantumanomaly I appreciate this response. I believe you've provided solid, actionable feedback. It's almost as if the steemit community uses their blogs as a personal journal. People are interested in your life and personal experiences in what you do. They want to feel like they are living the adventures with you. This is valuable information. Thanks again!

Another good way is to garner community support through upvotes. Like my reply? Upvote it to show you support my reply. It costs you nothing, and has a much better chance of convincing me to follow your work by showing that you care about my response not just in words, but actions.

By the way @coincutietv, you've had a bunch of comments on this post. You should consider interacting with them while your post is still fairly new! People like to be engaged with, they will remember you more and it has the nice side benefit of bringing you back to the top of the 'Active' search rank, which many of us use.

Thanks! I appreciate this tip. I'll keep it in mind for the next posts. What's your favorite thing you've read on steemit so far? Something that compelled you to comment or upvote fast?

I don't know, I'm just kind of obsessed with the platform itself at the moment. I guess I upvote fastest when one of my friends joins the website, or if a post is just really interesting, or someone with a lot of social capital joins the platform.

Yes, that seems to be the general consensus. It's like being in an empty room and there's a party going on... You best friend walks in.. You get exited...Scarlett Johansson walks in.. You get excited... Whose next to join the party! Were all excited to hear about why each other are here and what brings us to the party.

Don't give up! Also, more photos would probably help. Maybe it's cynical, but you're gorgeous, so it couldn't hurt.

Thanks, I won't give up... but was a little frustrated. My first post had tons of pictures. I even spent a ton of time collecting and formatting them. Then the results after the post were poor. Not the levels of engagement that I expected. I try not to rely on my beauty, but more on delivering value. Which is why the subsequent posts don't have photos of me. After testing the waters, I figured hey why not, maybe videos and photos of me is what the steemit community wants to see. Did another post. Performance: still not as I expected. As I try to crack the steemit code... I figure I'd turn to the community as a cry for help. What kind of content do you feel does best here?

You didn't use bait for whales

What kind of bait do you think I should have used? lol. What kind of content ( other than introductions) do you feel are worth your time viewing or upvoting?

Boobs were good for a while, till they weren't.

Boobs will never not be good.

Hello,

Yep, you are doing everything right and honestly, better than me. Do you have experience with SEO and SMO marketing because you have it! Well, right now, like @demotruk said, Steemit is "whale oriented". This will probably change in the future but just remember, keep doing what you're doing and one of your posts could go viral, get people interested and allow you to gain loyal followers.

I personally, comment a lot on posts, especially the popular ones but the problem is, it's not about how many comments or upvotes, it's the overall subject of the post that you are checking out. I comment on finance and stuff but people tend to underlook the topic, thus, rewards are very low or none.

If you want, you should check out @jesta and his awesome "Steemstats" website. It helps by showing reward payout times, latest activity and your estimated earnings, and wallet stuff. If you want, you can visit steemstats.com. I use it and I find it useful. Maybe you will to.

Have fun!
@angusleung100

@angusleung100 thanks for this! I will check it out. I'm glad you are around to help! I appreciate it!

There is no consistency in terms of rewards. It could be 10 articles with <1$, then 1 article with 300$, then another 20 with <1$ and then get a 1500$ one.

I've been noticing that as I look at other steemers blogs. Obviously most introductions are rewarded heavily. I love to write and share my incite on a ton of topics. It's hard to stay positive and continue to put a ton of effort into developing new content, if it simply gets overlooked. I turn to you guys for help with strategies. What's your favorite type of posts to read on here?

In terms of strategies I think curators are extra cautious with non-original content. So since they rarely have time to check what is and what isn't, they sometimes are biased towards steem-based content or content that has a steem-twist. So its unlikely that the content will be plagiarized by a 1 year old submission somewhere else, if it has something that has "steem" in it right now - because steem is new. In a way steem is like a watermark for proving authenticity. Unofficially of course. It just makes the curator job much easier to upvote without thinking "oh this may be plagiarized, copied" etc.

As for what I like to read, for me it's mainly cryptocurrency related articles, but I don't mind other interesting stuff as well.

Thanks for you feedback. I love to read and write about crypto. It's been hard to gauge what will and won't go viral here. People generally loved to be entertained so that usually a safe route. Thanks for helping me understand the community a bit better today! I appreciate it.

Hi just keep writing and building your Blog. Connect with other like minded folks. Let the payout be secondary and write what you enjoy.

Thanks for this mindful response! I enjoy writing about business and giving people solid tips from my experience. Some posts I've invested a ton of time writing. What do you think is the most ideal / digestible format for posts on here? 1-2 paragraphs, 5-7 paragraphs?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65