You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Steemit is Rampant Capitalism

in #steemit7 years ago

Serious question: who is putting money into Steem?

For every sale of Steem receiving BTC or Cash, there has to be a willing buyer. Who are these people? Why are they buying Steem?

I have spent some time researching who / why people would want Steem (full disclosure: I'm trying to figure out where the value comes from) and everyone rants about investing and potential future use for transactions... But who's buying it now?? There is like $10k per day distributed.. who's on the other side of that?

Sorry maybe I'm still missing something

Sort:  

I'm dolphin sized. I brought my dolphin status primarily to build community because no crypto is eorth anything with its user base.

Glad to have an investor on board the platform, welcome @eturnerx. Community can be built here again, I think. When I first got here, about 80 days ago, it seemed like Summer Camp. Everyone seemed to chat more and were more outgoing. A huge influx of people will take some time for acclimation to the platform and will eventually follow in the spirit of Steemit, hopefully.

Yes. I'm still learning the community norms. A new influx of people will also bring some new values too. I hope that it doesn't cause too much friction with the old-guard and we find a way to build.

I've met plenty of new minnows that look to succeed on this platform and that is all anyone can ask of them.

Great question @coffeee. I don't know that I can thoroughly answer the question, but let's try. We are all rewarded with SBD which needs to be converted to Steem in order to power up. So there is a steady stream of Steem being bought with steem backed dollars. There are also people investing in the platform who want to have more vote power and coin appreciation speculation. Partial answer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51