You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT: STEEM: Game Development: Opening doors... discussion

in #steemit7 years ago

This is making the rounds tonight, maybe it's ended up in your feed.
Maybe you could incorporate Steem’s Smart Media Tokens (SMTs) to your card game?
Just a thought, Cheers

Sort:  

i'd need some documentation on it. Like I said I am not a web coder. At the moment the techniques I see to run most things are linux, which I work all day long with linux, and I have no problem making servers. The problem is that I want to make a stand alone game. A server is not ideal for that. I also would like to do it across multiple platforms, thus I have some work to do.

I knew about the tokens coming, but I don't know much about them. At this point I may actually make a basic game... have something to show and THEN see if I can get some interest to integrate steem.

I attempted to read the white paper, without any lights going off but others are very excited by the comments.
Here is an idea for you, create a game and fund it with your own coin, Maybe these new tokens would work and like steem the game play itself creates/mines the rewards.
Sorry I should have dropped a link to you @ned is the creator, I would message him with your game idea and ask how to incorporate the token as game rewards for you and your players. Maybe a fellow steemster will volunteer to help, or do it for some tokens :-)
If you don't ask...the answer is always NO LOL :-)
Cheers & Good Luck
I'm already looking forward to trying your game.

fund it with your own coin

I am actually very much not fond of the amount of coins coming out. I actually think it dilutes and hurts the adoption of crypto currency as it makes it a lot more confusing.

I am not doing this to fund my project. I have other game projects I was working on. I was more interested in doing this as a way to put hopefully a fun game out there of good quality that by being mixed with steem would be another way to get more people onto the steem blockchain, steemit, dtube, and perhaps lead to further games and apps that are beyond web based.

I hear you on the alts, but at the same time some great innovations have come out of it, steem being a great example, proof of stake is a nice touch and several others. The shitcoin BTC clones are way out of hand, should be put under the microscope and delisted for so many reasons, but as long as they can be traded people will keep them alive hoping their $5 - $10 will someday reach thousands LOL. Probably already has for many big bag holders or shitcoin inventors.

And yeah I've been here for more than a year and know who @ned and @dan are. @dantheman used to follow and vote on some of my posts when he was still part of steemit, inc.

I will see if I can get some prototype working and that might excite some people good at coding the steem blockchain side of things enough to help me overcome those last few barriers. I can make the game as a prototype such that it wouldn't require blockchain integration at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54