Ways to improve the Social Media portion of SteemIt...

in #steemit8 years ago

Here we have SteemIt! So, what do we have? A free society? Or something else? If I post something on a website that offers payment for my posts, I deserve payment for the post.

If I post and do not get paid, then I have worked for free, and gave the platform my ideas. I have posted several times on this site, and got nothing for the content. Is this fair? No. And it isn't only not fair, it is theft of time and wages.

Since I have stated this several times, not a single person has said anything about it, neither good nor bad. So I am asking the community for MUCH needed feedback. The reason I need feedback is because this needs to be discussed. But what exactly is it that needs to be discussed? How the content we post is evaluated...

Here is what I mean. (This is how I would LIKE to see it!)

First, we type up our post, and send it in. It then goes in front of a review board, who give it a grade depending on quality. The grades would be "A", "B", and "C". Quality "A" content is shared with the entire community, and the person is given a small amount of Steem Dollars equivalent to their Steem Power AND reputation.

Quality "B" content is only shared with the intended community, meaning the context of the post is what the post is about, and will be placed in that category, only for those eyes to see. If the content is about kittens, and written fairly well, then it will only be seen by those looking for "kitten" posts. This post will be given Steem Dollars depending on the persons reputation.

Quality "C" content is that which is rejected and sent back to the person responsible, to be redone. Once the post is redone, it will again be submitted and reviewed again by a panel. If the second time it is rejected, then the person will lose reputation, and not be compensated for it.

The review panel could be those of us here. Elected for a short term based on our own quality, and intelligence.

Now, how voting could work. Here is a way we can solve the voting issue...
Voting would be Inspiring, and Uninspiring. For posts that talk only about (for example) the price of Bitcoin, this would be a bit less inspiring than what the price could mean for business, and for impoverished communities around the world, and solutions to tough issues.

If the post is Inspiring, then the vote "Inspiring" would boost reputation, and earning ABILITY. For posts that give inspiration the person would gain the ability to earn more because they would advance to a higher earning bracket.

For the "Uninspiring" vote, the person would remain where they are (earning bracket) until they post something inspiring. They would still earn SD because they posted content that deserves compensation as stated above. ("A", "B", "C".)

Earning brackets would be as follows...

Levels 1 - 3 each post receives from 2 to 5 SD (reputation 10 to 20).
Levels 4 - 6 each post receives from 6 to 12 SD (reputation 21 to 30).
Levels 7 - 10 each post receives from 13 - 20 SD (reputation 31 to 50).
Levels 11 - 20 each post receives from 21 - 40 SD (reputation 51 to 100).

Advancing these brackets means more responsibility and greater opportunity to earn more. If your reputation is stagnant than you will only receive wages for that level. You will need to challenge yourself, and get better content posted.

Loss of reputation is possible by posting content that is rejected by the panel. A person will never go below 10 reputation. This means the wages for each post will always be 2 SD (unless it is rejected which means it will receive no wages). This should be a great motivator.

I know that this is just my view of how I would like to see this platform work...but what about you? Would this be a good thing? Am I missing the point of the platform?

Let me know! :D

(My own image created at imgflip.com)

Sort:  

With thousands of posts everyday, I wonder how the review panel will take care of reviewing each post. Inasmuch as I would like my post to be reviewed by smart people, I don't think this is feasible.

First of all, you have to get people who "knows or at least familiar" with all topics covered in steemit. Secondly, how will the members of the panel be compensated? And thirdly, Who among us will have time to read each post especially the ones with over 1000 words? Not to mention giving it a Grade.

But I like your idea of Inspiring/Uninspiring vote. Which is I believe is being done through upvotes/downvotes. The level of earnings is also a good way to compensate and boost reputation. I hope the people in-charge will look into this suggestion.

What I want to see is how reputation is built. Is reputation influenced by upvotes? SP? By the number of posts? I would rather have focused myself on how to build my reputation because it seems to affect everything else.

It would be difficult to create a review panel, so I will scrap that idea...
The moment an account is created the person receives 10 rep, 3 Steem Dollars, 3 Steem Power, and placed in level 1. Each post, depending on Inspiring/Uninspiring, reputation is earned . A specific number of Inspiring votes causes the reputation to go up, but only so far. That inspires the author to post more quality content and the next post will gain more, depending on votes. To counter vote abuse, after so many votes either way, (lets say 100) it will be flagged by the system and reviewed. This could take up to a week for flagged posts to be reviewed, so a group would need to be hired with proven writing ability. But as you said, it would be hard to find a great group of people with that skill level, and I already scrapped that idea. lol
I am happy to admit when an idea was not the best, but I am a thinking kind of person, and love to brainstorm.
Thanks for the reply. Well thought out. I will give you level 5 and 10 SD with reputation 20! :D
Have a great one!

That alien guy is so internet famous.I wonder if he's flattered or horrified?

I would venture to say that he is mortified! lol
If I were internet famous for something similar I wouldnt know how to react.

Your system of a review board is a good idea to me but it seems impossible to apply as technology didn't went that far yet :/

I think that you are correct. I hope that we could warp speed ahead to that day when a panel could review and then post.
:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59079.50
ETH 2697.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50