Real Life Curation, That Moment When Your Mom Breaks All the Records!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I am not only proud of my mother @mojojo for writing such a beautiful introduction but I am proud of the community for their amazing responses!

I wrote a post about growing a community inside of a community a couple weeks ago and would like to expand on it a bit and talk about my mothers latest post.

Obviously I have been pretty hyped about steemit and cheer leading a bit when asked. The fact remains though, not everyone is for this platform. Lately I have been a bit more reserved about who I pitch to based on that.

Like minds attract like minds and the individuals that excel at steemit fit a certain personality type in my opinion. As of now I feel the community is made up of the social and technical pioneers of our generation. This may not be the case forever but it is at the moment as far as I can tell.

It took me a bit of convincing to get @mojojo to create that amazing introduction. The first version was only a paragraph believe it or not. I had recently been to a funeral and it was mentioned in a eulogy about the story of our lives being lost in the sands of time.

I expressed this to @mojojo and mentioned a few of the things that she had experienced in her life needing documentation. Not just for you the reader, but for readers that do not even exist yet. We are but pebbles being dropped in a pond, there is no way to know the full impact of our ripples.

This feeling of needing to leave a message for future generations and documenting how I felt during current events was always a passion of mine, even before having children. I blogged for a few years on myspace thinking it would be there "forever" and I could go back at a later date and review.

What a valuable lesson that was, over some time the platform was sold and changed. All of the blogs I had worked so hard to write were gone forever. Fact is, if its on their platform its theirs not yours. This is something I remind people as often as I can to reduce their shock when platforms change the rules on this.

Steemit was my salvation, I had been involved in block chain for a while and knew the basic concepts. Did some research and liked what I saw. Not perfect but better than anything available today, I gave it a try and had some success.

After getting a feel for the community I started to realize that some people I knew would do well generating content. One of my life purposes is to assist people in reaching their full potential so I could not help myself. I never expected to have the success I have had though.

If you have not tried IRL curation please give it a go, just make sure you select someone that will succeed or that you can help succeed. There is a technical and social curve that can be difficult to overcome for individuals that do not possess the drive. Some will not have that at first and may need a nudge, my mother was a perfect example of this.

From some of the correspondents with her after the outpouring of support from users I can tell she is hooked. She already has a few posts in mind and ready to go. I also feel like she will be great at following and commenting with true sincerity for those that have shown her the same.

I will continue my pursuit of the next steemit all star though most of my contacts list has been burned through, thanks for reading!

SteemVerify

Sort:  

I think one of your strongsuits is encouragement. ...and you are willing to go the extra mile to help in any way. Thank you for this! It is always greatly appreciated.

Not a problem, funny how your comment is encouraging me now lol. I thoroughly enjoy the creative success of others and that is the drive I think. There are pros and cons of real life curation I am finding however, going to continue on though.

Never let someone else's downfall become your own. You be you.

Thats great to get your mom on steemit. I am sure you will be great at bringing more people to the platform. Keep it up!

I really like waking up to my first cup of coffee and finding a personal account and sweet opinions from my son about me, his mother. Revealing. I can see that you have journalism, promotional and management potential just by reading what you posted here. Thanks, Cody

Ha, I was inspired!

Pros and cons to my methodology, I think a good general word is coordinator for my behavior. Still need to learn some balance and patience.

It was a great intro. And yes you are a great recruiter keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66