Voting bots - good or bad?

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm quite new to steemit and I was reading up on what you should do and one of the suggestions I came across was to sign up for one of those voting bots to get the curation reward without even doing anything.
That sounded great and so I did!

It worked really well too and soon enough I've got some SP for not even doing anything. Well, not a full 1 SP of course but nonetheless.

So I get money and the posts that are being upvoted get money as well. That's what I'd call a win-win situation.

But is it really?

saulo-mohana-152320.jpg

On the other hand what I really like about the concept of steem is that good - whatever that means - content will get rewarded by the community.
The whole point of the curation reward is that you - wait for it - curate new content. It's a reward for finding a good piece of content that's worth your vote.
Arguably giving that work to a bot that just upvotes semi-randomly content makes the whole system fold together - sure, you can set rules to upvote just particular users and similar but at the end of the day you still say "This is a good piece of content that more people should see" without ever seeing it yourself.

And that is why I personally turned off the bot quite quickly again and spend quite some time in the 'new'-tab myself.
Are you using a voting bot? How do you feel about it?

Sort:  

This is interesting. I used some bots. Now I have to think about it.

I have a few authors that always get my upvote -cause I know they also do good. All the others are upvoted manualy:)

Yeah, I think that's a fair compromise and if they stop doing good you can always remove them from the list anyway, can't you?

True, I can:) So I use it not to miss my favorite authors post:)

I think you did the right thing, if we let bots take over then steemit will become a pile of rubbish, as you said curation should mean, what it means.

Congratulations @codingpanda! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Do you have the patience to wait till your mud settles and the water is clear? Can you remain unmoving till the right action arises by itself?

The answers will come if you wait.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56442.36
ETH 2405.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32