One month on Steemit, my advice: Be part of a community and try to connect with people.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It's been a bit more than a month since I joined Steemit. I've been making a daily post, maybe just missing one or two days on the 32 total days that I've been on this platform. I've made 35 posts and 335 comments, I've 175 followers and; according to Steem Supply, the value of my account is 53 USD. Is it good? I don't know, but in general, I fell pretty positively with the results of my first month here.

At the moment, I'm living in a place of the world where I'm not able to work legally, which has helped me to put a lot of hours learning as much as I can about Steemit. I have to admit that I'm not even close to where I would like to be (I want to learn more about the technical part) but the learning curve of Steemit is a steep one.

I know that there are people that have done a lot better than me in their first month, this word may not be for them but for who is struggling to understand how Steemit works.

With that in mind, I want to share my thoughts, tricks and strategies. Especially the ones that are not mentioned often by other users.



stemit.png
By @cnandofer


What's the deal with whales, dolphins.

Coming from a place, where I didn't know anything about cryptocurrencies one month ago, this was the first thing that I didn't understand.

In simple terms, the whales are the rich people of this place. They have tons of Steem, some of them use their resources to develop and help the community and others are just like passive investors that loan or delegate Steem for a profit.

The dolphins are the users that are one tier below, they have enough Steem Power to make a good upvote but nothing compared to whales. To me, it seems that the dolphins work for the whales. While the whales are backing the community projects with Steem, the dolphins are the ones creating the content and managing the communities.

If you want to grow here, you need to be part of a community.

Unless that you put a good load of cash into Steemit, you need to be part of a community. By being part of a community, you will have more chances that your post doesn't get buried under the sea of posts produced on Steemit every day. I believe that the communities formed in Steemit are the real value of this social network, they are the seed for innovation and business ideas.

Some of the communities that I'm part of are:

  1. @minnowsupport: Is a community designed to help minnows grow. They have a group of people always willing to help as well as community bot. You can get one upvote every 48 hours from their bot which will help your post get more exposure and earn you a little bit of Steem.

  2. Minnowbooster: A community where you can buy and sell upvotes, lease and delegate Steem Power. I find their market of votes more appealing to me than the bid votes.

  3. Smartsteem: Is practically the same than Minnowbooster, lets you buy and sell upvotes, lease and delegate Steem Powe. I prefer their webpage, but I use both equally.

  4. @steemplayroom: Finally, the community that I like the most. If you enjoy playing games, you should check this out. You can earn steem playing a game named Steemgar every half hour. This post has everything you need to know.

Explore and engage.

Those are the communities that I'm part of, but there is a ton of different communities based in where are you from or what you like. I invite you to search for stuff that interests you in the little search bar on the top of the page, read the posts and engage with the authors of these posts.

Make comments that will start a conversation, don't go writing "nice post" in hundreds of posts per day. Try to connect with people; which at the end of the day, should be the goal of any social network. Well, connect with people and rig elections using your personal data obviously...

Improve your writing skills.

Finally, no matter what community you're part of or if you're the friend of all the whales on Steemit, you'll need a minimum of writing skills to make it work in here.

I don't consider myself an expert on grammar, words and punctuation have always hated me. Thankfully there is a lot of tools you can use to improve the overall results of your posts.

I use Grammarly, an app for Chrome that I use as my word processor. It has a pretty cool assistant at the right of the page showing the mistakes I make and score that I try to keep as high as possible. I use the free version, no need to go for the premium yet.

I'll try to share more of the tools and strategies that I use in the future. For now, if you have any question or suggestion don't hesitate to share it in the comments section. I'll be more than happy to do what I can to help you.


Some more of my stuff.


arrl.png

arrl.png

arrl.JPG


logoFollowme.png

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

Try to connect with people which at the end of the day is the goal of any social network.
It should be people who instead of people which.

Nice bot, thanks ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47