You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trying to cultivate discussion of my niche hobby on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Dan, I think everything you wrote is spot on but you avoided saying something. Most of the posts, and especially the comments, on Steem are frankly terrible. It isn't just that everything is muddled together, it's also that the signal to noise ratio is just awful. And it's clearly the monetization model. I fear it's unworkable, but hope I'm wrong. I just haven't come up with tweaks to the system that I think would profoundly change things.

It's nice to see this comment chain getting good traction!

Sort:  

I don’t disagree about there being other “quality” issues, but I was trying to be diplomatic about how I framed things.

Personally I think the “curation problem” of trying to separate good content from bad in a gatekeeperless world is a really hard problem. It’s definitely a problem here, but to me it seems like it’s also a problem everywhere. I’d also like to find solutions but I haven’t come up with many great ideas that I think would work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44