How Steemit changed my life and made me sick and greedy. What I plan to do from now on.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Begin rant...

I don't like to do this and it frustrates me a lot, but I keep finding myself upvoting a lot of stuff that I don't actually like. It happens almost automatic because I'm always thinking about the money I can make.

Fuck this.

I drafted a Introduce my self kind of post the other day and thought that would be ridiculous and I did it because I thought it could get traction like all ohter 100s that are making money talking about themselves. I don't want to post a crap dramatic/fun/different history about myself because of money. No way. I've deleted the draft post.

I don't want to be a clown and wear a bikini or do some man's makeup tutorial to get money. I doesn't worth it.

I started posting stuff I'm actually passionate about here when I signed u, but soon enough I shift to the Steemit category, or make money, or crypto whatever... Just because of greed. I even like those themes, but the purpose was only to make money.

I don't know about you, but it is clear to me that the content quality here is low, plagued by plagiarism and bad writing, recurring themes and cheerleadering. Crap everywhere.

Not sure if I'll ever post anything else here.... If I do, it will be about my true passions and things I believe.

End rant.

Sort:  

If you've been finding that you vote or respond to posts based only on how much money you can make, and that you're upset about feeling that way, it's true that this may not be the right platform for you.

However, what you stated at the end of your post is the best solution for both you and the platform. If everyone posts what they want to post, and talks about what they want to talk about, at the very worst Steem is like any other social media platform. At best, you may even be rewarded for your thoughts. There's no real downside ... unless you believe there is one.

Isn't it the whole point. Steemit is a very young platform and they only thing that brings people here is money. There's no culture, or community yet, just and idea of what it can be. If money is not a driver, content creators have much better platforms to publish their work.

I honestly believe in this platform. It can become huge, but needs urgent fixes.

In the end we need to do what we love and are passionate about.

Thanks for commenting.

I understand you perfectly, it's like gold rush, meditation helping me a little bit to control my self and not go crazy, its hard to make good article when u are not professional blogger, photographer, crypto guy etc...

You know... I didn't invest a lot of time here, but it is frustrating to see how it is developing and how effort is not being rewarded proportionally. I see such a huge potential on this platform and would love to be a part of the community, but devs will need to make a lot of changes and fixes to make it work properly, in my opinion.

Thanks for commenting.

I agree with you, devs need to make a tons of changes, for now platform is steel in beta stage, we need to be patient.

Sure.... but I'm decided. No votes for popular stuff anymore, just because they are popular. No crap posts like this about Steemit. If I'm going to post here it will be something that I'm passionate about. :)

Anyway...I'm a photographer. check my work here.... http://cloveandcinnamon.ca/ and here danielnobre.com ... I was a blogger back in 2006 when blogs were just starting, had my 2500 followers on feedburner. I have good stuff to share, but is it worth the time? I guess I'll need to figure it out. Thanks again.

I like steemit for it just being steemit. It is what it is. Please don't get upset with me.

:) thanks for commenting. It makes sense. We can't change what it is, so let's a least enjoy it...

What about if you use this space to write stuff that you like and forget about money? I know we are moved by money but sometimes it's better if you could just write what is on your mind and not worry about if this is going to reward you. Now, if you want to succeed you'll have to study the plataform maybe comment on posts, trying to get some blog friends and see if it works for you. Like @foma17 said, most of us are not professional bloggers it takes some time to learn a new skill and yet you can get frustrated. I believe that you should do what you said in the end of your post.
Good luck on your journey!

Just to let you know I took the time to read your post even though it was low quality. I used my time to comment and respond to it also. So some days good stuff can happen here.

Got no money from you... just like Facebook. Nothing good happen.

BTW thanks for reading and commenting. Don't take me too serious, I was just frustrated and complaining.

It's good to let it out! That's what keeps you sane!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81