My new job as a Steemit writer and blogger - An ongoing journey

in #steemit8 years ago


I have read many posts from many Steemit Community members who have decided to quit and leave behind their normal everyday jobs and become full time Steemit writers and content developers. This too is my dream one day, however in the meantime still a luxury I cannot afford to do. I, like most people rely too heavily on my steady paycheck and do not have enough disposable or extra income saved so that I can afford to risk leaving my day job. For me it will be a step-by-step journey that hopefully one day ends with me being able to work and write for myself and financial freedom.
[Picture Source]

Individuals such as @heiditravels, @kevinwong, and @stellabelle are only some of a few handful of people who were lucky and got in early enough to establish a good reputation and heavy following. They are also good content developers who provide quality posts that engage the reader and keep them coming back for more. Only a few people are able to currently use their earnings from Steemit to actually support themselves.

[Picture Source]

As Steemit continues to grow, it get's increasingly more difficult for new writers to get noticed which results in a smaller group of people getting paid for their submissions. There just isn't enough Whales with enough steem power to ensure everyone gets paid. The growth simply overpowers the number of influential voters. This however will change over time as the platform grows and the amount of Steem Power spreads across to the people who remain and continue to support Steemit. You just have to be patient, continue to contribute, and remain active in the community.

[Picture Source]

What I have decided to do is to pace myself and dedicate more time to Steemit. I have started to cut back on the number of hours I spend at my day job killing myself so I can come to Steemit and write, share my experiences, and add hopefully what I consider valuable content. My job also offers me the luxury to on occasion take time to work on my drafts which allows me to refine my posts before I submit them. It also allows me to work on strengthening my writing skills so that the quality of my future posts continue to improve - which I hope shows. As most people know the more you practice, the better you get. I also take the opportunity to read and support other members content which helps me to learn and refine my writing style and at the same time do what I can to promote quality material.

[Picture Source]

Below is a graphic i found which i think truly embodies what i think about my friends and acquaintances who are writers, bloggers, and content developers for social media platforms.

[Source]

Thanks for reading, Please let me know what you think in the comments below

Sort:  

Same here @cloh76, I think majority of us who are here are looking forward on the same thing :). Like what you said, who knows.

Good luck. Anything is possible. Looking forward to the day we all find what we are looking for

Nice article, and a good goal to have.

Enjoy your / the journey! :)

Thanks! Wish me luck!

This is a brilliant article - I fully agree with the points you mention here.
All the best to you and lots of success here!

Thanks. I appreciate the feedback and support!

I don't like to write, that's one of the reasons why I am here so I can overcome my aversion, I'm also curious about blockchain and cryptocurrency, plus I would like to set up a store and sell my arts, crafts, and cool old clothes I find in secondhand stores.

I can't say I don't like to write. I think I'm just lazy and a procrastinator at times. You should definitely start posting some of your arts and crafts on Steemit. Im sure there are a lot of people who will appreciate it and maybe even some who will end up purchasing what you have to offer.

I've been posting my practice work and following the stats on the most popular posts. I create new paintings from my highest up votes. I haven't posted my jewelry or vintage clothing yet. I know my limits, keep it simple and post what I am comfortable with for right now. I'm looking at open bazaar and several other platforms in connection with steem.

SteemBazaar is Born :)

I am a master at procrastination, been practicing for over fifty years! Hahaha

All the best! Yes, certainly got lucky with this. And there's more to content creation.. there's also community building and such behind the scenes, mostly happening on steemit.chat as well :)

Thanks Kevin. #Curie has definitely helped me out on many occasions and I appreciate all the behind the scenes stuff you and other prosperous contributors, devs, and whales do for the community.

Something similar I read in Steemit but one different point made was: writer know their coffee. I don't know about knowing the coffee but needing the coffee, that's for sure. :-)

Unfortunately I dont drink Coffee. Im forced to stay alert the old fashion way - slapping myself silly or standing up and stretching. Either that or eat a bowl full of candy!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98