The Need To Feel Connected

in #steemit7 years ago

Isn't it the most ironic thing -- in the age of the ultimate connection so many people feel like they are lost a sea. Why is this? Too many of us are sitting behind keyboards or not connecting to co-workers. It can be even more isolating when you are your own boss and work from.

To that end, a vicious cycle has appeared in our culture. First, Facebook came along with their likes and shares. And then things like Twitter and Instagram. Which came with even more Fake Internet Points. And everyone promoting this and that and this and that -- It was painful to watch.

The only one that I can still handle is IMGUR -- great funnies and I get the chance to be encouraging and offer some guidance in the same why I have been in other Steemit posts that I have done.

Why do we need Fake Internet Points? We have accidentally created a society that feeds on instant gratification and still wants to be accepted. Look I got a thousand likes! Sound awfully familiar, right?

There is even a YouTube channel that is making fun of society. I am kind of hoping that Poppy is actually an Augmented Reality Game, but she is still hitting the nail on the head.

Enter Steemit! What a novel way to connect and share the wealth. I am looking forward to seeing the platform evolve. There are many wonderful folks.

Including @dracosalieri -- who is hosting a giveaway! Woohoo.

Sort:  

Steemit is a good next step in the evolution of social media. Not only a platform that pays users but a true place for free speech. Advertise everywhere!

I will follow and share.

Thank you for your feedback.

I look forward to seeing your work as well!

Thank you for the mention.

Social media has always fascinated me. I was in high school when Facebook exploded. Back then I could never imagine the reach and consequence to the world it could have...

Connectivity has, in my opinion, brought the world closer together. That can only be good considering humanities bloody past.

My pleasure. I want to see us get away from Fake Points and create a more meaningful experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67720.63
ETH 3807.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68