Identity verification thoughts.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The requests for proof of self is something I have seen requested often. I have felt differently about it as recently as a few days ago. I had taken the stance that if the quality of the post made you want to upvote, then that posting should be worth of the reward. I've had time to rethink. There's room for fiction and its marked fiction.

With the influx of user that will come when the current cap ends. What's a good solution as we move forward. I have a thought.

I would be willing to submit some personal information to a service that could say with a reasonable amount of validity that I am me. It would be something that attached to my account and let everyone know that within a margin of error, I am me. Vigilance is still required, but every new user doesn't need to be met with hostility.

No part of the platform would change for users that elected not to do this. They could see and vote for all the posts, but users that were registered would have the option to mute those that were not verified.

As a newer user wanting to be active and develop a revenue stream for proving a quality of content deserving of it, and asking you help provide that to me, this is a process I not only want to do, but ask you allow me to do. i can't imagine why there would be a majority opposed to this.

Sort:  

I like this idea too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36