You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are we in an echo chamber?

in #steemit7 years ago

I definitely agree for all the same reasons. Have you tried viewing Steemit at beta.chainbb.com? It's all the Steemit content but organized as a system of forums. It's much easier to see what's going on there and I think the structure of it foments discussion in a way that the UX here does not.

I also agree with johnyliltoe below that there is a culture of non-confrontation. If I see a headline I strongly disagree with I either won't click on it at all, or I'll go and skim but not reply. Because I feel self-conscious about going on someone's post just to disagree with it. That is completely the opposite of how I have used messageboards in the past, so I definitely feel like there is a powerful disincentive to be disagreeable here. I don't know what would happen if I were, but I just keep thinking it's easier to move on and reply to something I like.

I was just thinking how much I miss the messageboards on IMDB that they got rid of recently. I love to debate the value of various films, actors, directors, etc. with well-informed people. It's a shame they decided that wasn't part of their mission anymore. I've been browsing around the Entertainment channel on beta.chainbb and it's fun.

Sort:  

Fascinating. I'll be using it for a few days to see if that makes a difference! This is a researchers dream scenario.

I'm so glad it is of help. What are you researching?

Haha, I just meant hypothetically. I do think I will pen this down as a possible data project to work on when I have some more of this mysterious thing called "free time." Gotta hustle if you want to retire early, right? ;)

Yep, hustling is what I'm all about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53