You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There is a disturbance in the steemit platform

in #steemit7 years ago

I am new here and I was confused by that as well. I still don't totally understand who all these bots are, and who steemcleaner is and if they are officially appointed to clean up Steemit(?) or if there are community guidelines and if so where are they posted? So it's interesting to see someone who has been here longer talking about this.

Sort:  

I am also fairly new to steemit, I joined in June 2017. I am still looking for some type of official community guidelines from the owners of steemit, If there are any.

Yes, me too. It's a bit of the wild west here, which I kind of like. But it leaves me sometimes puzzled about how things work.

Very appropriate characterization of the situation. See my comment to your other comment above.

The Steemcleaners and other bots are all community projects. They don't have any official backing. Just community support. They also are fallible and can make errors, just worth noting, as I've had a post incorrectly flagged for tag spam although the tags were (clearly) appropriate, and it was later retracted from the report.

There aren't really community guidelines, it's more like there are a lot of sub-communities and they each have their own sort of "culture", if you will. You kind of have to walk on egg-shells until you know who's house you are in, then you can act more appropriately.

By "who's house you are in", I mean if you act the wrong way in the wrong sub-community, you are likely to get flagged out and be unable to earn rewards. The smaller you are, the more generating a backlash against yourself can really hurt your potential earnings or reputation. Part of this is because the official line on voting (up or down/flags) is that there is no official line - each user can use their vested share as they see fit.

Also, my personal rule I try to follow was also stated below by @realitycheck:

Positivity will earn you many more friends here. If you can't post something positive in a post, and it's not abuse (spam/plagiarism etc.) you should probably just move on to another post, not vent in the comments, unless you are willing to be diplomatic and open to new ideas.

Yes, I have been getting that "eggshell" feeling and I've been (mostly) on my best behavior. So far I have really no idea whose house I'm in or if I'm even in a house! I feel more like I am wandering the moors, searching for a familiar hummock. Not sure who the subcommunities are yet. I have sensed various themes running through things, but so far they haven't coalesced in my mind.

So I guess I'll just...put on a happy face!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62390.04
ETH 2455.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66