Is there a time limit to how long you can edit your post?

in #steemit7 years ago

I am wondering if I got new information three days later if I could add it to an old post? Or if I write something where I reveal a lot about myself and later I feel it was a bit too much, can I go back and take something out? I know these may sound like weird questions, but I am still learning how Steemit works. Thank you!

Sort:  

I think about 7 days

This comment has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 2.08 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @koffee. Vote for Aggroed!

You cannot edit a post after 7 days of it's creation :( .. Sadly the information stays as it is after that.

Re-post it (but tell people that) and make more steem dollars. ;)

I would not recommend doing this. People will probably un-follow you.

Yeah I wouldn't do that. I was asking more about how to remove things that I wish I hadn't posted.

You're stuck after the 7 day period. Can't edit past there, and the edits are all saved in the chain.

Fair enough

Lol, ooooookay

I just meant that a lot of people re-post an old blog with some updates and newer information to make it fresh again. Steemit is not the best vehicle for living documents so just repost, tag it as a repost, and highlight the updates. People have generally appreciated it and upvoted that sort of content.

Your post can be edited via the edit button at the bottom for 7 days. Once that time period is over, it is locked in stone (for now, at least).

All your edits are saved in the blockchain, so it is always possible for someone knowledgeable to go back and see what you changed.

Hope that helps.

Yes, thank you! I was more worried about times when I overshared and wanted to remove something.

Yeah, you have to basically consider that in advance, because edits are all saved.

I have the same concerns, myself. It's also easy to misinterpret people's meaning online, so it's good to make sure everything you right is very clear.

Hmm, thanks. I'm a bit worried now. A couple of photos I used that I was sure were copyright free I now realize may not have been.

Clemdane? I stumbled across your article here. When I first started with Steemit in the summer of 2017, the rule of thumb was that you couldn't change anything on your posts, articles or replies after 7 days. However, I just found out tonight that this time limit may have been abolished. My articles are at least a year old, and they all now offer me the option to edit them. Perhaps Steemit has finally heard all of our cries for more flexibility on editing our articles. If so, then I say, "Hooray!" If Steemit is going to give us all the ability to edit our articles without any time limits, then I say that that is the way it should be. I mean, HubPages allows for people to edit their articles without time limits. It's about time that Steemit hopped on board with this same benefit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65