Sort:  

We are all equally responsible for policing ourselves and instead of feeling targeted or victimized by the people that may look like a bully at first glance, maybe if we shift our perspectives and try to understand their intentions and relate to these individuals then we can see that even when we disagree, it doesn't mean that what they are doing is inherently wrong or meant to hurt a specific person.

You hit the nail on the head with this one, @clayboyn! I mean your whole post was spot-on, really, but this part in particular really stood out to me because I feel like it truly defines the concept behind decentralized leadership.

It had never even occurred to me that decentralized platforms such as Steemit are basically online forms of anarchistic communities! What if we could "perfect" this model of decentralization online?

Could we then, in theory, transfer what we learned from carrying out a decentralized system online, into a "real world" application and establish a successful community/society based on the ideals of anarchy?

Steemit is already rolling over into the real world with things like meetups and SteemFest. It's not perfect yet and it's probably going to be a lifelong process, but the more people that can accept it for what it is and want to adopt it, the more change we will see. :)

Is it anarchy, or is it truly capitalist? We have leaders- witnesses and whales, who are determined more by money than any other system.

It could certainly be anarcho-capitalism and that's kind of what it is now. I think that's going to gradually change over time though. There's been periods of pure chaos on steemit in the past where people were just running mass flagging bots and hitting every new post. There are some users that upvote every post with like zero power. I think we will keep seeing more groups and tribes form like MSP and Whaleshares etc.

move to colorado saipan! we have a whole group of people ready to make shit real over here.

ahhhhh perhaps someday :P If Utah doesn't legalize soon I might just have to! haha

Hello @clayboyn!,

That's the challenge with being in a decentralized community, being able to help lead with everyone else. Doing what's right for yourself is essential, but it comes down to making the choices that will benefit the most people!

I feel that too, that the flags and behavior are not a personal attack, however, you are right in saying that everyone has a responsibility to demonstrate the good behaviors and lead by example!

<3 shello

This is a refreshingly conscious post that relates to the ecology of decentralization, a more holographic way of being as opposed to the hierarchy of pyramidal power systems, I include this subject of decentralization when discussing the dismantling of the current system for a more ecologically harmonious society and planet. empoweered communities.jpg

Your leadership style is empowering , building and educating us . I really thank you . You are very great leader in steemit community.

I'm just trying my best to lead by example. Thanks.

@clayboyn. I must disagree with you on this. What berniesanders and Transisto are doing is no better than when a tyrant decided that he doesn't like what someone is doing, and thus, walks over and beats that person down with a tire iron or baseball bat.
Even in an anarchic society, people that do that get what they sow.
If I don't like what someone posts, I just don't vote on it, and thus it doesn't get my steem.
Let's say that I didn't like a posting on "why it's okay to batter women." I'd simply go down to the comments and start a consensus on why this is wrong and why this person shouldn't get any steem at all. If the person kept showing a pattern of abusive posts, then and only then, would I gather my friends and flag his posts. I wouldn't use bots to do it.
What bernie and transisto did was no better than what dictators do, when they don't like something.
In my opinion, bernie needs to be banished from Steemit, just because of his abusive behavior and petty name calling.
On the matter of transisto, I'm not so certain. He seems to think that only crypto news should be posted on steemit, which I disagree with, but I think he's only trying to protect his investment, and sees anything that's not crypto as extraneous. I think that he would do the same to any piece of art, literature, or science that got in his way.

It's fine to disagree and many people do very vocally. Personally I'm not a fan of all of their actions and I think sometimes they are very contradictory to my own thoughts, but the point is that if more people felt that way then they would have been targeted and nullified at this point. Ultimately the other whales aren't fighting back against them and not everyone in the community disagrees with them. I'd much rather see them targeting spam and abusive images on the platform, which are certainly out there, I've had to down vote many of those accounts personally in the past. The ability is necessary even if the person doing it is using it in a way we disagree with. If you want an example go look up @iamgod and check who flagged most of those posts invisible. The reason should be VERY clear.

Namaste-amazing post and excellent points, thank you sir. 💜

My buddy has this painted on his wall in his house and added real flowers he changes every week to it.

the problem with decentralization is it is prone to corruption the same as any other system. certain people will refuse to accept criticism or take responsibility, or they will use their power to unduly influence things in their favor. if people fail to police themselves and chose to use the lack of restrictions to bully and intimidate others, how is that any different from what we have now at a national level?

In my world it isn't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79