What People Want to Buy with STEEM: First Results from Market Survey

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I launched a market survey to gain some insight into the type of merchandise that people want to buy with STEEM/SBD: 

https://steemit.com/steemit/@claudiop63/what-would-you-like-to-buy-with-your-steem-sbds-please-take-my-market-survey

Image Credit

The survey contained just 6 questions. Here are the results so far, which should be of interest to STEEM/SBD potential merchants. 

Respondents so far: 27

First Question

Almost all respondents have been here more than one month, so presumably they had enough time to grasp the basics of Steemit.

Second Question

Only 20% of respondents are from the USA. The remaining people are from the UK, Germany, Italy, Canada, China, Australia, Malaysia, France, Romania, South Africa and Ireland.

Third Question

Ok, here we get into the interesting stuff. Over 90% of respondents are clearly interested in shopping with STEEM and SBDs...

Fourth Question

I think this was a question worth asking. Roughly 80% of respondents prefer using SBDs.

Fifth Question:  Which goods or services would you like to buy with Steem/Steem Dollars?

I believe the table speaks for itself...

Sixth Question

So, this looks very encouraging to me... over 60% of respondents would conceive spending more than $30/month on Steem-based shopping.

Summary

Unfortunately the sample is quite small (please fill the questionnaire if you haven't done it already...), nonetheless I believe it provides some interesting indications to potential merchants. Probably the most useful indication is the one from the fifth question concerning the most desirable items to buy.

Please resteem if you feel it's worth increasing the size of the respondents pool!

Sort:  

It is unfortunately very hard to conclude anything on the basis of 27 answers... let's see whether you will get more with time :)

Of course. ..but I am hoping that this is somewhat intriguing and motivating more people to fill the questionnaire :)

Great poll idea. I would like to buy and sell directly on steemit too, but am holding off due to a lack of user control over content. Steemit.com's disabling of edit and delete functions really kills the ability to maintain any kind of storefront here. If you cannot manage your posts like sale ads, sold items, keeping content\prices correct, and deleting sold\unavailable items, then you cannot really project a professional image.

Another poll that might be interesting is "what features are holding you back from selling on steemit".

Flagged for unsolicited PM'ing of link on http://steemit.chat - They are actually banning accounts over this sort of thing so consider yourself lucky at a warning flag. Refrain from PM'ing links in the future please.

It's not acceptable to private message people links of your work unless they've asked for them previously. Please stick to channels like #PROMOTION and #postpromotion-moderated to advertise your posts on.

With that being said this is very interesting information. Good work on that part.

(I'll remove the flag later, Consider this a freebie warning. ;) )

EDIT: Flagged removed 41 minutes after and turned into an upvote. While still not enthralled with being PM'd the link I don't believe it should cost you money nor rep. Great work here reporting this info.

Ok, on one hand I thank you for your comments concerning the post, on the other hand, let me say that I would have considered your flag totally inappropriate, for 2 reasons: 1) it was a flag to the person, not to the post itself 2) it was the first time ever I sent you a PM. Nobody had ever flagged me in such a situation. In some similar instances, I got appreciative comments (including by people with rep 70), in other cases I was kindly asked not to do it again. These are the behaviors I would find appropriate. P.S. If somebody will ban my account (I don't even understand what this means...what happens to my SP then? It just gets confiscated by @steempolice..? :-) ), I will simply go back to places where I belong, as that will prove that I am not fit for Steemit. And don't really feel like a "lucky newbie", sorry...

Welcome to steemit, land of the roaming hall monitor, home of the censorship bot, new home to the reddit style censorship brigades. Kudos for standing up to the first one to come after you.

Just FYI, they cannot ban you and take your money. All they can do is downvote\flag each post to hide it, which can be reversed if others upvote it. You still have access to your wallet and funds.

Don't let the hall monitors chase you off, after that great response they will probably leave you alone now anyway.

I am very surprised. I would had thought people would want to purchase food the most.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50