You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The community/self split in free delegation?

in #steemit6 years ago

It seems to me that borrowing Steem Power to give yourself a more valuable vote to use to stimulate certain aspects of the community that you endorse is a noble cause. This might be called philanthropy, what the ultra-wealthy also practice. The method you employ here lends an air of commitment and compassion to your endeavors and probably enhances your personal reputation with your followers. To this I say bravo.

On the other hand would it be so wrong to upvote your own posts to gain enough of your own Steem to eliminate your debt? Wouldn't that increase your power and also allow you to help build this community? Steemit is a game, after all, and in the rules of this game upvoting your own posts is allowed. Whales call the shots on Steemit. Striving to become a whale seems to be the best way to influence the platform in the most powerful way.

I've struggled with using bots, delegations, buying votes and have yet to do so feeling it to be a bit sleezy and uncouth. But I'm going nowhere fast and perhaps I've been foolish in my sense of personal morality on a gaming platform. When you play a game there is nothing wrong with playing by the rules or playing to win. It's difficult to be honest and giving when most are only in it for themselves. Sometimes we are our own worst enemy.

Sort:  

Perhaps it is not a clear cut case. Yes, I could upvote more than just my posts to cover costs (or post 10-15 more articles a week but that is another 20-30 hours of work on top) but, I owuld not feel great about it. Plus, I am relatively highly rewarded so I am able to cover the cost out of other earnings.

It think it also shows something about me in some way, at least to myself, as I feel that some sacrifice is always required to create something greater than the sum of parts. This for me is a small sacrifice considering how much value I am able to spread to others and what spreading that value may result in for many more in the future of the platform itself.

If I look for a balanced sheet at all times, I think it will limit the upside potential of the future. This is especially true in how I see the value developing here through the growth of a community. Hopefully, I can nudge more toward self-sufficiency rather than reliance so they can help others too.

Your's is certainly the road less traveled. A man of honor is a rare thing to find these days. Let's hope it's contagious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86