You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Competition: Good or Bad?

in #steemit8 years ago

in my own personal experience it is far more profitable to help others than to hurt them. - andrarchy

Love that!
I live by this principle for years now and it only brought advantages!

It made me happy and it´ll make you happy!
I wish you success,
Chris

Sort:  

I don't agree with this graphic. Plenty of unsuccessful people want others to succeed. And many successful people want others to fail.

This is a case of a graphic looking like it's true when it really isn't.

Exchange "successful people" with "desirable people" and "unsuccessful people" with "undesirable people" or something similar and you get to a more true statement. Successful and unsuccessful are not defined by how they want others to do nor is it indicative of their mindsets.

This graphic is a projection of what the creator wants to make a point of, but it's just not true and the graphic gives m ore weight to the statement and makes it seem like it is true when it's not.

I can imagine someone taking this same graphic and exchanging "successful people" with Republicans/Democrats/Libertarians/Anarchists and "unsuccessful people" with the group they are trying to denigrate and depending on who is viewing it will aggressively agree or disagree based on who is being maligned as the "hater".

Sorry for the long-winded response. I'm so in love with my own words I'm loathe to edit them!

You got a Point there Roy!
But to me, this Picture works as a reminder.
I want to become Successful. And as we all know, Success means something different, to all of us. To me, Success means: Progress, Happiness, and Health.
The only thing I can say is, that helping others made me coming closer to my Goals :).
It´s a principle which rather functions as a guide, then a fact.

... and don´t worry, we all love our own words, in a way :D
Feeback´s like your´s vitalise this Community!

All the best,
Chris

Totally understood. The picture works absolutely well when taken from your definition of success. Just pointing out that the commonly thought of definition, which is exemplified by the trending page on Steemit, is one of financial success.

Moreover, just wanted to make the general point of using meme like graphics to make points. They just seem more truthful than their actual meaning dictates.

It's almost like a meme can be a logical fallacy all on it's own. Like an "appeal to authority" fallacy. If it's on a professional looking graphic, it's gotta be true!

All the best to you, as well, Chris,
Roy

Roy, the Illustrator :D
You are absolutely right!
The Marketing Industry love´s this thinking mistake. I mean, the actor wears a doctor´s code, for a good reason, while he´s talking about how great this specific toothbrush is.

THIS PPICTURE IS SO TRUE!!!

hehe ... It helped me a lot :)

What is "success"?

Whatever gives you a feeling of fulfillment.

Of course, Success means something different, to all of us - or at least it should.

To me, Success ​means: Progress, Happiness, and Health. ;)
What about you ?


schadenfreude

haha... den habe ich mir gespeichert :D

This meme really does spell out how "cooperation" is superior to "competition". Competition is adversarial, warlike and primitive. Thanks for the post!

I think it´s much rather about, how we handle competition. ;)
I have to thank you, for your great feedback!

All the best,
Chris

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42