Medium charges memberships while Steemit PAYS ME!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Today when I headed over to read my “daily digest” at Medium, I saw this…

nomedium1.png

I actually can't remember if I have been on Medium since 2012 (I dont think I have), but it sure made me feel special and I clicked on the upgrade button to get my freebie!

nomedium.png

Nope, no freebie for long time users. This new upgrade costs $5 dollars per month and it gives you access to some special features like reading articles offline and reading exclusive stories first.

Well, thanks Medium but I rather keep using my - almost the same - free version.

So, I had to ask myself why do I keep using Medium?

Well, the truth is that Medium has done a lot of things right, their platform is used by a lot of influential people and industry leaders; it is hard not to go over there when Vitalik Buterin blogs something interesting. It is also a great looking site and has a slick mobile app.

People keep writing at Medium because it gives them reach to a large audience and it looks great, which brings me to my next question…

Why do people use Steemit?

I believe people are attracted to Steemit for mainly two reasons:

1.- The Blockchain technology behind it.
2.- Money! People want to get paid for what they usually do for free.

Conclusion

We need to combine Medium's look and feel and their marketing reach with our shared revenue model, this is what will make Steemit explode and become, for sure, one of the biggest social networks of the world.

Sort:  

Definitely! If we can combine aspects of the two we are laughing!!

Oh well, finally the end of Medium

Steemit will go all world when people find out what it's capable of but until then many people just aren't aware yet.

An example of Centralization vs De-Centralization.

I do like the look and feel of Medium posts, including the estimated reading time. Medium still values long-form posts and good writing, too. Posts have become so short here on Steemit that aren't like Medium articles any more -- and they are getting even shorter with apps like Busy and SteepShot that favor single photos. In my view, the long-form posts provided so much more value when I read them. The shorter posts are more about keeping in touch - not the realm of Medium.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80