If you have the votes, that is all that matters

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

rant start

I see a lot of people stressing about getting lots of votes but not much rewards, it is quite frankly becoming a bit annoying to me. Somehow some users feel they know which posts should be getting rewards and which shouldn’t. I have read absurd comments like:

> How did this meme get 800 bucks!

Or

> Throwing balloons into the sea gets you thousands but my post only gets cents

Etc, etc etc… I see at least 10 of these bitching posts per day and I have even read people talking about quitting steemit!

To me it all comes down to one very natural but ugly human feeling: envy , it is a feeling we all have at times but it is a feeling you must fight and at the very least you should not let it out and tell everyone how jealous you are of other bloggers.

Bottom line is all steemians; Whales, Dolphins or Minnows will vote on whatever the hell they want and judging other people votes it’s not only stupid but also irrational, it’s basically saying that your way of thinking is the way everybody should think!

Remember just weeks ago when you spent hours at Medium and Reddit and you got nothing to show for it?... yeah that’s right you were happy blogging then, but somehow now you feel you deserve thousends!? Come on!!

rant stop

So, I want to finish this post on a rather happier note and give a sincere recommendation to everyone out there who is either feeling frustrated, angry or even abandoned by whales and dolphins:

“If you are getting votes, that is all that matters, it means that people like your posts and eventually a whale will like it too and vote for it. Just don’t stress and whine because that really won’t get you any love from anyone. Be yourself and write stuff you like because at the end of the day it is your blog”

Live and let live!

Note: This post was not meant to be a rant but I just couldn’t help myself while writing!

Sort:  

I don't know what does or does not deserve to be rewarded but I do know that many users are not enjoying Steemit because they are spending all their time trying to hit it big. I have found much more satisfaction and success commenting on submissions that I enjoyed. It's a big part of this platform.


I am a new Dolphin here, Good post and good comment, you both have my vote.
The 80% of the members only have 0.17% voting power here, the whales are developers, they don't have enough time to read every post and vote the good ones. It's the early stage for steem, as time goes by, more people will undestand cryptocurrency and have faith for it and will buy.
Be patient, it's just a matter of time.

@chitty i like this post , good luck

Upvote done

Always follows GOOD POSTERS

Bitching n down voting don't get you any where!!!

This Minion are FOLLOWING GOOD POSTERS

GAME ON 👍👍👍🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀
To da moon

Yes way much more fun than any other social network I've tried, and you can win money having fun reading and posting... what? yeah I couldnt believe it, but I'm enjoying it!.

as I have spent a lot of time for comments
but I am still pleased with the presence of steemit

Well put.

I agree. of course everyone wants to be a millionaire (teehee). but Not everyone has the skills or even the luck. Just enjoy and learn from the experience!

I've been making some posts with all original content from myself and has won just cents.. but I'm having fun doin' it.. I hope, someday i'll be rewarded for that! but until then, i'll just enjoy this community for what it is and not for what my greed and envy wants it to be!.

Sometimes we want something so much, that our greedy energy push it away... Envy is one of the most dangerous energies and life is very ironic when it comes to rewards.

This community needs more people like you.

Interesting to watch early seedlings grow like this. You can almost pick out the type of people that would end up going down the path of 'tyranny' about what should be upvoted and what shouldn't be to make it "more fair".

Coercing the behavior of others to behave "better" is the sort of silly shit we're trying to escape.

Some people just can't help but let their inner dictator channel through :)

Great writeup, @chitty!

HERE HERE! Share and share alike. No judgement.

Amen to that I am sick of these dirty money whores.

Just be yourself. Envy or jealousy should not arise in this community. Steem Is The Power!

I love this ha ha ha ha ha @chitty
Well played

You have said it so well! Bravo! That shud be the way.

Wtf, this post gets over $1.7k and not mine????
hint: joking

As time goes on the thousands of minnows will turn to dolphins and post will easily earn more. Stay strong and keep the faith!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38