"Angela Dozing Off"

in #steemit8 years ago

While posing in her pink sunglasses for a portrait painting class I was teaching, Angela was resting her head against some cushions and fell asleep. That wasn't the plan, but it was fine with me (in fact, it was kind of funny), so I let her sleep while we captured her in blissful oblivion. Models were scheduled to take a break every half hour. She slept right through one of them!

"Angela Dozing Off" (#2325) 16"x20" oil on panel, by Lee Gordon Seebach

I always painted along with my students so they could check on the progress of my painting during model breaks. (Or, of course they had the option of just watching me paint.) I believed that this was the best way to teach because when I was in art school, I learned the most from instructor demonstrations.

This in fact worked quite well. Some learned it so well that I had a hard time seeing the different between my work and theirs at times. This was very gratifying to me.

My students and I formed a semi-circle around our models and we all worked at the same time. I went around as my students painted and would try to make useful comments. I would also give lectures before painting if I felt they were needed, to help guide them in the right direction.

More to come,

Lee

If you'd like to see this image on my website (Seebach Fine Art), here's a link: http://leegordonseebach.com/workszoom/2131772

Sort:  

I appreciate this - I find it hard to capture face in detail. This is amazingly well done. I like it :)

I like this style.
It's .. hard to explain why.
It is light and strong together and
somehow alive.

Thank you @shla-rafia, the style is sometimes referred to as "direct painting" aka alla prima, using simple, decisive brushstrokes to define the planes. Little or no detail, showing basically light, halftone, and shadow. The result is a painterly style which I enjoy doing.

Hey nice, I learned something! Cheerio master!

I love how you captured this quirky moment in time. Also like the contrast of using vibrant energizing colours when the subject has no energy at all. Thanks for sharing with us.

Thank you @magickalmalia. I appreciate your insightful comment. And, you're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52