5 Mistakes any Stemians Need to AvoidsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

Introduction

You have recently joined the social network Steemit or you are an addicted veteran. In the beginning, you should be lost on how the interface is working correctly.

As everything in life, you need to take the time to learn how to find your way in the interface. The human brain needs to grasp the knowledge one step at the time, it is the normal process. I would like to be Data in Stark Trek and have the possibility to learn in one instant!

The key to success

You want to be guided on the platform and make it a better place for everyone? Like you, in the beginning, I was intimated by the interface and did not know where to start.

You need to apply the following five important rules to increase your Steemit karma on this outstanding ecosystem.

Rule 1 - Avoid begging for an upvote

You have recently made your first post, and you feel the adrenaline in your entire body. Now you are in the process of pressing the button post to push it on the Steemit blockchain.

After five minutes waiting patiently, you receive a comment. You should say in your mind, this is so cool. You forget everything that exists in the world and checks with enthusiasts to read it.

You see a boring comment of this kind, "Cool...upvote and follow me". This type of comment sucks for the publisher who made an effort to provide great content.

You should never beg for an upvote instead, try to read the article and put a constructive comment on the conversation. You can see it the same way as you speak to your friend.

Rule 2 - Do not upvote your own comment

Lately, I discovered a strange behavior from many people in the comment section. When they interact with your content, they upvote they own comment to maximize their return.

I think it is unethical to do that and you should never do it. When you take the time to answer and respond with value, the people will upvote organically. Let the community upvote your comment without doing it yourself.

Rule 3 - Do not follow people who steal publisher content

Sometime, you find an awesome piece of content that you enjoyed every part of it. You tell yourself that you are going to follow this awesome person on Steemit for reading future content.

Now you want to give him a nice upvote and an resteem to your followers. Before doing so, your eyes discover a comment from a Steemit bot that the content is the same as an external source. This is not cool for the publisher who took the time to write the article.

In that case, I never follow those people because you do not provide any value on Steemit.

Rule 4 - Do not comment without reading the post first

I make a small curation post promoting the content of my crypto blog. I take the time to check everything before posting the post.

I posted the following post: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@chesatochi/using-crypto-in-morocco-is-now-illegal

The person answered me with the following comment, "nice...". You can clearly see that the person has not read the essence of the message. I was obfuscated by the answer and answered back to make him understand his mistake.

People love to receive comments and read them, so take the time to read the content before writing a comment.

Rule 5 Do not spam with too much post

Everyone loves the idea to make money on Steemit, so do I. I followed someone lately because he wrote an article that I loved reading. As usual, the first thing I am doing is to check other posts written by the authors I follow.

What came to my attention, the author posted about 15 to 20 posts a day with the low-quality rating. I waited a few days before unfollowing him! I do not like doing that, but I do not have the luxury to spend time on low-quality post.

It is better to post 5 or 7 posts a day with good contents instead of 25 with crap.

Last word

The Steemit platform will grow, and more users will be attracted to use it. The idea of making money for posting is awesome, instead of spending hours on Facebook and receive nothing in return.

To make the platform even better, you should start your journey on the right direction. I believe in Steemit and for me it is like a drug to log every day on it.

Also, I invite you to check my crypto blog:
https://chesatochi.com

Sort:  

Agree on all the 5 points. But personally for me it is very tempting to upvote my own comment. i dont do it when post a comment but later on when i see an option to upvote my own comment i end up doing it. I guess i need to stop that :-)

The only thing I am doing personally is upvoting my own post :)

he he.. I guess most of us upvote their own posts including me..

I just joined steemit, thanks for the nice tips!

You are welcome, also first time someone put me a comment on an article I wrote 2 months ago ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62199.58
ETH 3014.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57