From Architecture to Modeling to Piano Performance and now Steemit.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Before I knew that I wanted to study piano performance and composition I first decided to study architecture. Architecture was cool for a while, but I figured out that I liked the idea of just being able to design my own dream house instead of actually being an architect myself. So while I was on break from studies as I waited for the next upcoming school year to apply for programs, I decided to try my hand at modeling.

I wasn’t really expecting much when I tried to pursue modeling, I mainly just did it for fun. All the makeup, shoes, and clothes AND I’m getting paid for it? I managed to get quite a lot of bookings for fashion shows, and photoshoots. I was even in talks with a well known Toronto based modeling agency trying to arrange a contract. The idea of being a professional model got to me for awhile, but I knew this wasn't the career I wanted. It was fun, but it was not want I wanted to do. I wanted to create, but I didn't know what.

At this point, my old piano teacher contacted me out of the blue and asked if I would like to stop by the studio for a talk. When I got there my piano teacher asked if I kept up with piano and how life was going in general. I told him that I wasn't really playing piano anymore. Immediately, I was met with a look of disappointment. I never even considered for a moment that a concert pianist could be a real career for me. It was just a hobby, an extra set of fancy skills to have. There are so many other talented pianists, child prodigies aged 6 playing Chopin Etudes and Rachminov concertos. I did not believe that I could ever reach that level of performance. But, my piano teacher saw something in me that I did not see myself.

I immediately started piano lessons again. I had 3 months before applications started again for university, and if I was going to audition for any music program I was going to have to put in a lot of work. A lot of piano major programs required 3 different pieces, a theory exam and an ear exam. I was already so far behind; 3 months to master 3 songs and study for the exams. I practiced piano for about 6-8 hours a day, then a few hours of theory and ear training. In the end I pulled through. I'm currently going into my 3rd year of piano performance studies, and I'm having the time of my life. Creating music, sharing music. The best part of it though is being around people who are passionate about music, just like me.

And now I'm on here, on Steemit. I've been on here for about a week now, and its a blast. Everyone here seems just as passionate, whether it's traveling, cooking, analyzing cool facts, coding and life. Its a great community, everyone is so friendly. Its also an added bonus being able to earn a bit of side money. It's also kind of addictive >__<

This is one of the songs I auditioned with. I hope you enjoy xD (please excuse the audio quality, I record on my phone).

Sort:  

Hi, I'm @jeeves, the most advanced robot on Steemit! I thought you'd be interested in cherish's other recent posts!

Here are cherish's 3 most recent posts:

SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Meet Lola2016-07-23$0.08
Learn how to fly, then keep going.2016-07-15$0.02
Skiing in a Winter Wonderland.2016-07-15$0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75