I'm Back! PW Backup Reminder

in #steemit5 years ago

password-2781614_960_720.jpg
Greetings to all! Boy, have I missed you all. I lost access to my account for about a month, for the second time in my nearly two year long Steemit history. As some of you know the first time occurred in March 2018 when I was the unfortunate victim of a vicious hack. This time it was my own lack of organization and attention to detail. That's why I wanted to remind you all of password backup methods.

Always have more that one backup method!!

I just simply can't emphasize that enough. Don't just have it "backed up" on a file in your computer or phone! Thumb drives are a nice option, but what if you lose that thumb drive? Always also keep it backed up on good, old fashioned paper. I do have a steemit password notebook but, originally I was attempting login with pre-hack passwords that were in an older notebook. Then I realized I had the post hack passwords in another notebook and was able to finally meander my way back in!

Remember the rules of steemit and in my opinion the crypto world in general...

  1. Don't lose your password!
  2. Have double backups for your pw's, in other words not one but two secure backups. That way if you lose one backup source you have a safety net! So important!
  3. If you can remember your password(s) to steemit, then they aren't secure enough!
  4. If you don't have them backed up you are screwed because you can't reset without an old password provision.

Basically what happened to me was I lost one of my text files because it was ON MY PHONE of which I lost. Then I panicked, because I couldn't find where I had the backups. Chances are if you're smart and lucky (mostly smart), you won't need to use your backup source, however you simply can not be too safe with your Steemit keys (or pw's) .... I'm using those words interchangeably here.

As usual, I love hearing from my readers. Have you ever lost your passwords or Steemit keys? If so what did you do? How do you personally backup, or protect your passwords? As we enter a state of which all things are easier for hackers to access, bearing these simple things in mind is beneficial to the max!

image courtesy of pixabay

Sort:  

Welcome back

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Nice to be back =)

I am glad that you got back in.

Computer passwords are really poor.
Our entire life is now dependent on whether we can remember.

But, like you said, if you can remember it, it isn't a secure password.

And then, things that will protect you from losing your password (writing it down in a book, 12 word phrase...) make it easy to steal if you gain access to the physical location.

So, protecting yourself in one way, makes you vulnerable in another.

And if you save your passwords with Microsloth Winders... well, its already hacked.

Thank you and fortunately i don't use that to save pw's! But protecting ourselves online, in general, is just getting harder and harder

Welcome back, a good thing you were able to get back on, and yes its good to keep the passwords in multiple places for situations like this

!tip

Wow my upvote isn't worth much! Thanks @tattoodjay! Looking forward to catching up on your blog :)

Ohh yes with the drop in Steem Value the upvote value has dropped right off but I am hanging in here ;)

Indeed you are Mr. 68 ;)
My unintended absences didn't help but yeah i still believe in this place!

LOl at Mr 68, I meant hanging in here and still on Steemit, so many have gone idle, and disappeared but will no doubt will reappear if the value of steemit climbs again

Glad to see that you hadn't abandoned this place. Sage advice about the password.

Always have a copy with a trusted individual or a luddite in another location. I'd tell you my back up methodology in detail, but then it wouldn't be secure! :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes & I didn't mention a n y t h i n g about any notebooks or anything. whistles

thought you were only leaving ...
wellcome back

Nah, I've taken self imposed breaks before but this wasn't one of them!

Nah, I've taken self
Imposed breaks before but this
Wasn't one of them!

                 - chelsea88


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thanks bot u so smart

🎁 Hi @chelsea88! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Flowers And Friends Plus Spud2 Is Coming Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Glad you're okay.

I was worried about you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52