Do We Really have to Worry about Asshole Whales Killing our Rep because they don't like us?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Goodmorning or evening to my fellow steemians. Recently, I have been reading a post regarding a concern about basically "asshole" whales with personal agendas coming here on STEEMIT and downvoting the crap out of someone just because they don't like them or agree with their viewpoints.

I personally have seen people's rep smashed for: hate speech, plagiarism, and the like. But I haven't seen people's rep destroyed Just because some asshole whale doesn't like them. NOT saying it isn't possible. But,
Does this happen? If so what is being done about it? And what are the preventative measures?

It was my understanding that we have "steemcleaners" here for a reason. Is in not true, that misuse of this power can be prevented? Regardless of whether the misuse is from a "whale" or someone with high SP?

Sort:  

I've seen it happen. Without mentioning names (mainly cause I don't want to deal with the hassle of being this particular whale's bitch) there is at least one whale I know of who spends his time flagging people that he just doesn't like. Nothing to do with the content. The term for it is a "flag war" and it's absolutely hideous. Unfortunately, not much you can do besides band together with others and try to flag them into oblivion back. The power distribution that HF19 brought to the table evens the playing field quite a bit, but it's still a possibility.

Thanks for your time and comment. Well, that's a bit ridiculous. I'm not surprised really I guess

What kind of p.o.s. person spends time flagging posts on a social media network, especially one that is supposedly about free speech and the place to voice your ideas without having to deal with senseless censorship?

new here so would be interested to know as well..

I know one thing for sure though, if you have good following and few whale votes, it will make you popular, at the same token, whether intentional or not, being ignored by whales may send your otherwise quality articles into abyss!

and if people are frustrated long enough...they may quit...only thing worse than lure to be paid is to waiting to be paid and then seeing cents and quitting to go back to facebook.

I write because I do it anyway - but I don't think that's who steemit should rely on if it hopes to beat other social media in future...

It would be interesting to see what others say about your question

I too write for the pure sake of enjoying it and finding others with similar interests :)

The voting system is democratic. Just like on other social platforms. Flags, or "downvotes" are just as useful as upvotes. If someone doesn't like a piece of content, for any reason at all, they have the ability to decrease the payment instead of increasing it.

I'm not saying this can't be abused, but I truly love the flag feature, and wish it would be turned into an actual "downvote"

You'll also see people flagging posts for users upvoting themselves now that everyone can give their own posts and comments way more money.

So essentially you couldnt downvote or flag someone into oblivion just because you have a personal vendetta against them? For example, you dislike me so much my reputationscore drops from 51 to 8? That isn't possible Right?

@thatsweeneyguy

Unfortunately, it is. That's what a true democracy looks like. Just the same as ussrs can spam comment and upvote each one, basically stealing from the reward pool.

But it's highly unlikely. That's my point

I thought flags were reviewed

Not that I know of... I can take just as much from someone's post as I can give. no review involved

No I'm only talking about flags not down voting

flags are the only means of downvoting, unless you're using the eSteem app, in which case what looks like a downvote on eSteem, is actually a flag when it reaches steemit

Thanks for the explanation

great point of view!! i agree with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61015.50
ETH 2395.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64